Through the Eyes of Faith

This was part of my Bible reading this morning. If we love and follow Jesus, whatever happens we are his! What a glorious reality to BELONG TO THE LORD!

The picture was taken on my last trip up the mountains to Huancayo, Peru. The Andes Mountains are beautiful.  This morning I also read about a man who claimed a mountain. He was one of the 12 spies that went to recognize the land of Canaan, the land that flowed with milk and honey. He was one of two that didn’t give a bad report. He believed that with God’s help they could conquer the land. The people listened to the negative-speakers and as a result they had to wander 40 years in the desert.

When the people of Israel finally marched into the Promised Land and conquered it in the name of the Lord, this man claimed his mountain!

Joshua 14:6-13
6 Now the men of Judah approached Joshua at Gilgal, and Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite said to him, “You know what the LORD said to Moses the man of God at Kadesh Barnea about you and me. 7 I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the LORD sent me from Kadesh Barnea to explore the land. And I brought him back a report according to my convictions, 8 but my brothers who went up with me made the hearts of the people melt with fear. I, however, followed the LORD my God wholeheartedly. 9 So on that day Moses swore to me, ‘The land on which your feet have walked will be your inheritance and that of your children forever, because you have followed the LORD my God wholeheartedly.’

10 “Now then, just as the LORD promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years since the time he said this to Moses, while Israel moved about in the desert. So here I am today, eighty-five years old! 11 I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. 12 Now give me this hill country that the LORD promised me that day. You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but, the LORD helping me, I will drive them out just as he said.”  13 Then Joshua blessed Caleb son of Jephunneh and gave him Hebron as his inheritance.

I prayed this morning that I would be as strong at 85 and I was at 40! Just like Caleb, I want to conquer enemy territory for Jesus!

This week my precious daughter is reaching that “magic” age in her life. I wish her to be as strong and mighty as Caleb. We all can be. It’s just a matter of putting our trust in the Lord. Like our new pastor at Faith Assembly preached on his official first Sunday (yesterday), we need to see things through God’s eyes. His is all the power and the glory!

Coming home from church yesterday I had an errand for my sister and called her in Sweden. My brother-in-law answered. He commented on how perked-up and happy I sounded. No wonder! I had just been to a faith-filled service at the “Faith” church. That can put a song in your heart! I’m so glad he could hear it in my voice,

I’m passing on a little of that to you today. Look at your circumstances through the eyes of faith. See things as God sees them. For him nothing is impossible. This week (and always) you can be more that a conqueror!

Romans 8:37-39
37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Have a blessed week, looking through the eyes of faith!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

