Remembering…

This is the day to say an extra “Thank you” to God for giving me the beautiful daughter that today is turning 40. It’s unbelievable how time flies. It seems like only yesterday that I was holding this bundle of joy in my arms.

When she graduated from High School her father and I could not have been prouder. It had been a bumpy road for her with our missionary life. Starting her life in Peru, born in the mining city of La Oroya, she was surrounded by Spanish, although at home we spoke Swedish.

When we went on a year’s furlough to Sweden, the Spanish was kicked to the background. Returning to Peru, Spanish took first seat. She even started Kindergarten in Spanish. (The girl with the doll)

Then we moved to Sweden for three years. At first she refused to speak Swedish, but to make it in school she had to give in. School at that time was something else. Her teacher was trying out a new kind of teaching technique, which among others let the kids decide what they wanted to learn. My “baby” loved babies so she mostly played with dolls.

Then we moved to Peru and she and her sister went to a Swedish boarding school in Bolivia. She had forgotten her Spanish and it took quite some time before she was willing to pick it up.

When it came time for high school we had moved to Bolivia as a family. We decided to put her in an English-speaking school. So she started a new learning curve.

God knows things about us that we don’t know. He knew we would move to the United States so this was a preparation. How hard we worked for her to pick up English! I say “we” because I worked hard with her on the home work assignments. And she graduated with honors!

Then came a year at Christ for the Nations Institute in Texas, rounded up with a mission trip to Polen.

When we moved from Florida to Colorado, Carina ventured into the tourism business. But what good is a Certificate when no one hires you? At every travel agency where she applied they would say, “We need someone with experience!” How can you get experience if no one gives you an opportunity to spread your wings?

After celebrating her 30th birthday the dream of her life came true—to be a wife and a mother. And now I’m sitting in my living room looking at frames pictures of the beautiful grandchildren I have, thanks to Carina (and her husband, of course).

Proverbs 16:31 says, “Gray hair is a crown of splendor…” The years go by quickly and those gray hairs creep in. We don’t need to hide them. I did for some years. It made me look younger! But after the cancer and losing my hair, I’m proud of the gray!

On January 19, 2010 I wrote a blog about the loneliest day in my life. Yes, that day 40 years ago was my loneliest. I was by myself at the hospital with no means to contact my husband, about 80 miles away. And then, that evening, she was here, welcomed into the world by the doctor and the nurses, and this VERY PROUD mother.

This day–January 19, 2012–was “lonelier” with just me, myself and I. But now I have a telephone and I have a cell phone, so me,  myself and I sang the birthday song for the girl, now turned the respectable age of 40. The song was in Spanish and it ends with the words “May God bless you now and forever.” And I say yes and amen to that.

This weekend I will sing the song once more (maybe) and give my girl a big hug.

Time got away from me (the today19 turned into 20!). I was just remembering… I have so many good memories!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering…

  1. Vicky Velasquez says:

    Hermana Che,
    Que bellas palabras suyas con respecto a su querida hija Carina. Acabo de leer su historia, y realmente me llena de fortaleza su historia. Historia de padres misioneros, cumpliendo la labor noble de ser padres aun cuando las circunstacias fueron difíciles en su momento, y que bello y fortalecedor es escucharla como superó en el Señor todas esas adversidades…y especilamente el gozo que expresa usted en cuanto a la llegada de su amada hija Carina. Nuestro Padre Celestial las bendiga mucho, mucho, mucho a ustedes dos. Un abrazo fuerte a la distancia.
    Vicky
    PS. (No he visto a Carina desde el día en que recibí a Cristo en mi vida. Entonces ella era una pequeña linda con sus cabellos dorados quien entró al templo con su hermanita Eva, las dos vestidas de rojo…que bien les asentuaba el color rojo a las dos! Dios bendiga a Evita tambien.)

  2. Vicky Velasquez says:

    SE que Eva ya no está con nosotros, pero adelantó su llegada al reino de nuestro amado Señor con quien nos encontraremos pronto en las nubes…sigamos sirviendole fielmente.

  3. Ximena says:

    Me uno al deseo de desear para karina las más ricas bendiciones.

Leave a Reply

