The God of All Comfort

I feel like I’ve been hit with a bomb. I’m just a third party so I can’t imagine the pain the one closest to home is feeling. I lost a daughter through sickness but the person I’m mourning with lost a daughter through suicide. No wonder I’m hurting like a bomb went right through my heart.

There is one big source of comfort, the only real comfort, and that’s God.

2 Corinthians 1:3-5
3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. 5 For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ.

I remember those days when my precious girl was gone. One night it dawned on me that she was not coming back. I just screamed with all the force of my lungs, “She’s not coming back! She’s not coming back!” And that is the hardest part of it all; that they will never come back.

It’s been ten years. But I have not gotten over it. I probably never will. I miss my girl. And today it all came back to me, and I can feel the pain my friend is going through. A pain that leaves a big hole in your heart.

How can I reach out? The best I know is to reach out to God and ask him to be for my friend that which he is: the God of all comfort. I will ask him to wrap his arms around my hurting friend and draw him close to his heart.

How many words are in the Bible? Someone has counted them to be 774,746. At this moment it’s like there were only five! I can’t think of anything other than “the God of all comfort.” The Word of God is not like any other book. It’s a living Word! That’s why when we need a special message it stands out like there was no other.

What word do you need? Have you been hit by some “bomb”? Rest assured in the presence of the God of all comfort. And he comforts us so that we may comfort others.

My soul finds rest in God alone;
my salvation comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
Psalm 62:1,2

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

