Letting Jesus into the Boat

I’ve spent the day with my youngest granddaughter. She is the sweetest little girl you can imagine. The last few days she has not felt very good, running a fever and coughing. After her nap in the afternoon I had her in my lap and we cuddled while she was waking up. “I’m so glad I have you,” I said to her. Then Sarah looked at me and said, “I’m so glad I have you!” That made my day!

I have been busy with my weekly story. It takes me a whole day! Write the story, decide a good Bible verse to go with it, find the needed art, color the picture in Photoshop, do the layout using InDesign (both in black and white and in color), do a coloring page, and lately I have started doing an activity page. When I have all that done and have exported each page to make it a PDF file I write a blog to go with it. Then I have to upload the stories and link them to the blog. That’s about it!

Now it’s evening and I’m sitting in my bed, with my lap-top, listening to the President giving his State of the Union speech.

My granddaughter Brianna is sleeping with me tonight. At five o’clock in the morning she will be traveling with her parents to Oklahoma City. She’ll have a procedure done to check for gluten intolerance. I will get her older brother and sister off to school and then spend another day with the little girl that is happy to have me.

What was the story about? It was about that extraordinary day when Simon Peter let Jesus use his boat to preach to the crowds.

That day started out very disappointing. Peter and his partners had been fishing all night and caught nothing. Come morning, the only thing they had to do was wash their nets.

Then Jesus came!

When Jesus comes, things change.

A tired and disappointed Peter got the miracle of his life. At Jesus’ words he let down his net in deeper water. And he caught so many fish that the boat started to sink. He had to call for his companions to help him.

Overwhelmed by the miracle he saw his own sinful condition. He fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!”

“Don’t be afraid,” said Jesus. And then he gave him the opportunity of his life.

“From now on you will catch men.”

So Peter and his partners pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed Jesus. (Read the story in Luke 5:1-1.)

From fishermen to fishers of men! Wow!

It was a complete turn-around for Peter and for his brother Andrew, and for their partners James and John.

When Jesus calls we have to leave everything and follow him.

As I’m listening to the President’s speech I’m thinking about the great difference it would make if our leaders would let Jesus come into the “boat”!

How about you and me? May Jesus always be welcome into our “boat.”

“If my people, who are called by my name,
will humble themselves and pray and seek my face
and turn from their wicked ways,
then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin
and will heal their land”
(2 Chronicles 7:14).

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Impact 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

