K is for Kindness

Love id KIND. Aren’t those the most beautiful words?

God is love, and he showed us his kindness by making himself a sacrifice for our salvation. “But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy” (Titus 3:4-5).

I can’t think of a better word to represent the K in our ABC’s for Christian Living. Kindness is a Fruit of the Spirit (see Galatians 5:22).

Do you want to read a love story of true kindness? No one more beautiful than the book of Ruth in the Bible, about a daughter-in-law’s kindness to her mother-in-law. The testimony about her was that she was better for her mother-in-law than seven sons!

Let’s look at some things the Book of Proverbs says about kindness.

A kindhearted woman gains respect (11:16)

A kind man benefits himself (11:17)

An anxious heart weighs a man down,
but a kind word cheers him up (12:25).

Blessed is he who is kind to the needy.
Whoever is kind to the needy honors God (14:21, 31).

He who is kind to the poor lends to the LORD,
and he will reward him for what he has done (19:17).

Kind people leave an impression. I remember as a child when I commented to my mom about a missionary lady I was about to meet. “She’s ugly!” I said. Mom told me to wait passing judgment until I met her. It didn’t take long for my whole perception to change. After meeting her and talking for a few minutes, she appeared to me as the most beautiful woman I’d ever seen! That is what kindness can do!

Like Richard Gere says, “Everyone responds to kindness.”

“Be kind and compassionate to one another,
forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you” (Ephesians 4:32).

“Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but
always try to be kind to each other and to everyone else” (1 Thess 5:15).

Be kind!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's for Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to K is for Kindness

  1. Majetta says:

    If I could just live up to this every day!

Leave a Reply

