Kindness versus Brutality

I was moved by three stories in the March 2012 Woman’s Day magazine about Kindness to Strangers. One family took in up to 14 people after the tornado in Joplin in May last year. Some of the family members even gave up their own beds and slept outside in a tent, and they used their savings to provide the needed food.

Another story was about some college students that helped a homeless man prepare a résumé and hunt for a job. That experience led to the founding of LIFT, “a nonprofit center where people in need receive free assistance finding jobs, securing affordable housing, getting public benefits and connecting with other social services.” To learn more, go to http://liftcommunities.org

The third story was about two women in the check-out line at a supermarket. To her dismay, when the first woman was going to pay for her groceries, she discovered that her wallet was missing. The second woman stepped in and paid the bill, with the understanding that Woman #1 would later send her a check. She sent the check, adding $93 to round it up, and suggested Woman #2 get a massage. Woman #1 wanted to do something more lasting than a massage and asked her friends on Facebook for suggestions. They suggested she donate the money to a Food Bank. She then started the $93 Club, and the outpouring of good will has brought in over one hundred thousand dollars in funds to help the needy.

Look for them on Facebook.com/93dollarclub

Another inspiring story about kindness and good will is that of Leland Parker, a legally blind 83-year-old man who rides his bike collecting aluminum cans to raise money to purchase Fire Bibles for ministers overseas. People in his hometown know about his mission and they help him by collecting cans and taking them to his house. At 25 cents per pound it takes 1,240 cans to provide a Bible.

If you would like to help, contact the Assemblies of God Bible Alliance at 800.532.0440. The web site is: www.BibleAlliance.org

These are just four stories depicting the Kindness there is in the world. But there is another side, and I put versus Brutality in the title of this blog. In my hometown newspaper there is a big article today about child abuse. The numbers of abuse cases are staggering, and it tears my heart to piece to think about it. The cruelty and brutality exerted on children (even babies) is so bad and so awful the detective being interviewed cannot even talk about it. The children are defenseless because most of the time the acts of violence are done by family members, and other family members will not believe these people are capable of such crimes.

I sat at the kitchen table with a weeping heart. I prayed for the children in my neighborhood, especially if some of them are being abused.

My two girls grew up surrounded by love. In fact, someone commented one time to my youngest daughter that they had never seen such love in a family. For us it was natural. We were serving God, and God is love. My grandchildren are growing up in an atmosphere of love. That’s the way God intended it to be.

I don’t know how much I can advocate for abused children from my corner of the world, but I know one thing I can do, and I ask you to join in with me. Let’s pray! Let’s bombard Heaven for the safety of the children around us. Let’s pray for an awakening among the abusers. They need salvation. They need Jesus!

Kindness versus Brutality. It has gotten the mills of my thinking working overtime. Just a few days ago I wrote about Kindness. Maybe the kindest thing we can do for these children is pray for them to be delivered from the abusive situation and put in caring foster homes. I’m too old to take up that cause. Maybe you could be a foster parent.

Let God fill your heart with an extra portion of Kindness!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

