Dreams Do Come True

The year was 1982. One of my dad’s dreams come true was the Betel Bible Institute in Huancayo, Peru. Here is a picture with an arrow pointing to Walter Mucha, one of the new students that year.

Fast forward to 2007. Many winds had blown through Huancayo, one of them bringing with it the threats of The Shining Path terrorism. The Institute was closed, functioning now as a regular school.

Walter remembered the teaching I had given him back in 1982 about children’s ministry. He was now a pastor and one of the leaders in his denomination. He told his wife he would like to invite me to have a teaching seminar for Sunday school teachers. She told him he was crazy; they had no clue where I was.

But that was his dream, and dreams do come true!

By some circumstances that only God could have orchestrated, he had me teaching a seminar in Huancayo, in July 2007! In 2009 we did a second seminar.

Here I am standing in front of the former Institute that was now an elementary school. Walter had just told me his most recent dream. He wanted to open the doors of this complex once again as a Bible Institute! That was some kind of a dream. I promised to dream with him, in other words, I would pray.

Yesterday I received one of the happiest emails in my life! Walter’s dream of opening the doors to Betel again has come true. Last month the “new” Bible Institute opened its doors to 30 students, under the administrative care of Walter.

Dreams do come true!

Walter has a friend that helps him write emails, so we always go through a third party in our communication. I have an old cell phone number I hope will work this evening when I plan to call him and get the details.

For now, I’m excited beyond excited.

Who would have thought back in 1982 that the young man starting his theological studies had such promise? We never know. Those we sometimes least expect to amount to something surprise us.

God is no respecter or persons. He has no favorites. It’s up to us to make something of our life, to dream big.

I know what Walter is dreaming now, to have me as one of the staff! When he first started dreaming and planning for this new Betel he invited me to be the principle, which I very quickly said no to.

When I visited Huancayo in 1999 and went to the compound, a voice inside me, which I perceived as God’s, said, “You will be back!” I knew it meant I would be back there once again to teach. Nothing could seem more impossible at the time.

The future and my life (as always) are in God’s hands. As for now, I’m just rejoicing at how once again I’ve seen that the most “impossible” dreams come true.

So, my friend, dream on!

(You don’t see me on the picture with the students because I’m behind the camera!)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams Do Come True

  1. Majetta says:

    This goes along with a book I just finished reading: One Million Arrows by Julie Ferwerda. I am going to try to get several copies to give all my parents. The book talks about how we are to sharpen the arrows for God’s work. That is what you did: Sharpened the arrows for God’s work.

    God is speaking to me along this line.

  2. Cassie McCown says:

    Kerstin, I am so excited with you! I will pray that the way will be smooth, made clear, and that all your needs will be provided. Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

