Celebrating 15 Years

This is a very special Valentine’s Day for me. I’m celebrating 15 years since I was sworn in as an American citizen. Yes, it really did happen on February 14, 1997. Here is the proof!

This is a day to celebrate love, and I am celebrating all the love I have received in this my new homeland. To become an American citizen was a “must do” for me. My oldest daughter could have faced deportation. When we received our Resident Alien status she was 21 years old and she could not receive the status automatically as her younger sister. The only way to keep her with us was to apply for citizenship. You should have seen her face when she finally received the Resident status! It was like she’d won millions on the Lottery!

Three years ago I traveled through Miami in February. The following was their display.

I was on my way to Peru to conduct a teaching seminar. February 14 was on a Saturday so it was perfect for that purpose. That is something else I’m celebrating today. Other than that, I have no special plans. What do you do by yourself on a day devoted to couples? Just praise the Lord for his love and make it a happy day.

My grandson David wished me Happy Valentine’s Day yesterday. The kids were home from school because of the snow. They called me and I got to talk to each one of them. Last time I saw them, my Brianna fixed me a present. She gave me an envelope with the inscription: DO NOT OPEN UNTIL VALENTINE’S DAY. I obeyed, and got the present today. Two cents!

Two cents given to a widow with lots of love! Two thousand years ago a widow gave two cents with lots of love. Jesus watched this woman at the Temple in Jerusalem when she gave her last two pennies. The rich were making lots of noise so people could hear how much they were giving and applaud them. Jesus said that this woman gave the most, because she gave all she had out of love for God.

My two Valentine’s pennies are more cherished to me than a big flower arrangement or a box of chocolates. They remind me of how God sees my love. He looks at the heart. Others might be able to do big things and give big sounding offerings, but if I give all I have with a heart full of love, my Lord sees that as the biggest offering.

On Valentine’s Days to come, I will continue to celebrate my citizenship, I will continue to remember the year I had a teaching seminar on February 14th, and I will celebrate the two pennies that were my Valentine’s present in 2012. Starting with 2 and ending with 2!

May this day bring you lots of love, and may you share love. It doesn’t matter if it’s just two pennies. I collect pennies. They are the tiniest reminders that IN GOD WE TRUST.

Here is the story of the lady with the two pennies.

Mark 12:41-44

41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny.

43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything-all she had to live on.”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating 15 Years

  1. Majetta says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Dear Friend!

    • Sandy Crane says:

      I loved your Valentine’s Day story about the 2 pennies! How sweet that your granddaughter thought to give you the gift to be opened on Valentine’s Day.
      Those 2 pennies were priceless! Happy Valentine’s Day from me too.

Leave a Reply

