Gold Mines in the Making

Children become what we make them! Parents, grandparents, teachers and churches have a big responsibility.

As we know, there are all kinds of churches. A very good friend of mine told me about his daughter. For a couple of years their family had been attending a church where the preaching of the Word wasn’t the priority. For the children they would put on videos instead of teaching the Bible.

My friends changed churches to a more Bible-based one. One day his daughter said, “Dad. I’m so glad we changed churches. Before we would just watch videos. Now they teach us the Bible.”

That little girl is a gold mine in the making. “Do people where they don’t teach the Bible go to hell?” she asked. A question worth pondering!

Jesus warned, “Whoever welcomes a little child… in my name welcomes me. But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea” (Matt 18:5,6).

This little “gold mine in the making” can’t read by herself
yet but she is coloring a page about God’s Word.

Withholding the precious “gold” of the Word of God from little ones will cause them to sin. It’s such a serious crime that Jesus said it would be better to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

We have a big responsibility in what we teach the children. Just as we need to feed the natural body healthy food to grow strong, the spiritual man needs to be fed. We feed it with the Word.

God’s Word is a gold mine. Children and youth that feed on the Word are gold mines in the making. Just think of the future employers that will get these “gold mines”! They will have honest and dedicates employees. They will have excellent workers, never cheating, always doing their best, over-producers. And think about the future spouses that will marry a “gold mine”! And how great for future children who will have “gold mine” parents!

It starts today. I’m proud of my daughter and my son-in-law because they are instilling God’s Word in their children. Their kids (8 and younger) are inspired to read the Bible every day. In fact, before they get to play games they have to do their Bible reading.

Do you want to be a gold mine? Follow Jesus closely and feed on his Word. What a joy for those around you to live with a gold mine!

“How can a young man keep his way pure?” asked King David, and he answered, “By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you” (Psalm 119:9-11).

The Word of God will make your life a gold mine.

Psalms 19:7-11
The law of the LORD is perfect,
reviving the soul.

The statutes of the LORD are trustworthy,
making wise the simple.

The precepts of the LORD are right,
giving joy to the heart.

The commands of the LORD are radiant,
giving light to the eyes.

The fear of the LORD is pure,
enduring forever.

The ordinances of the LORD are sure
and altogether righteous.

They are more precious than gold
than much pure gold;

they are sweeter than honey,
than honey from the comb.

By them is your servant warned;
in keeping them there is great reward.

Let’s take good care of tomorrow’s gold mines!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

