To Hang On

I wrote some time ago about my friend Mary that lost her home in a fire last year. We talked this morning. She is hanging on, but what a big job she has to be able to get some insurance money for her home. If it had been burned to the ground there would be no problem. Then she would have received whatever the house was insured for. But because some things were salvaged, among others precious pictures, she now has to itemize.

She had her things itemized, written down one by one, but she put her lists in the cupboards and cabinets. If she had just made copies and put in a safe! Now she has to remember what she bought, where she bought it, when she bought it, how much she paid for it, and what she hopes to get for it today.

This lady was a collector. She collected dolls and Precious Moments figurines, among others. Now she wishes she had just “traveled lightly” through life. She is just hanging on to the memories and trying to remember everything that was in that home.

How many of us do an inventory, just in case we should lose our home? I’ve thought about it for years but the days go by and I don’t get to it. If I ever make that list, it needs to be put away safe! Some people take pictures, but that’s not enough for the insurance company. They want details!

This has been a day of calls with praise reports and payer requests. It makes me so happy that people confide in me with their needs for prayer. In between calls I worked on the story for the week.

Fanny Crosby, the great hymn writer from the nineteenth century was my subject. Did you know that she was blind? That she wrote more than 8,000 hymns? That she thanked God for her blindness? That she authored the beautiful hymn “Blessed Assurance”? That she used over 200 pen names besides her own?

Illustration for the story made by Cristina Alvarez in Peru.

Early in life she showed her poetic talent. At age eight, after overcoming a depression, she wrote these words:

Oh, what a happy soul am I!
Although I cannot see,
I am resolved that in this world
Contented I will be.

How may blessings I enjoy
That other people don’t;
To weep and sigh because I’m blind,
I cannot, and I won’t.

She went through life with that beautiful attitude. When someone commented to her that it was a shame that God had showered her with so many talents but didn’t give her sight, she rebuked him, saying that she was happy being blind. Why? Because when she got to heaven the first face that would ever gladden her sight would be that of her Savior! She wrote a song about it, My Savior First of All.

With the hope of seeing Jesus we can hang on in whatever circumstances come around. It makes me happy all over just to think about it.

Fanny Crosby hung on for 94 years. My friend Mary is getting close to that age. In the midst of all that’s happened to her she’s hanging on.

Both of us want to go to Sweden. Most of her relatives have gone one before her… she still wants to go there. We decided to make the trip when she gets her insurance money. If ever!

She just has to hang on! And I’ll hang on with her.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

