A Hug and a Kiss

We went to church my little grandchild and I. Then she wanted to pick a place to have lunch. We have a McDonald’s close to my house and the church. Guess what? That’s what she picked. Mostly because of the chicken nuggets and the indoors playground.

There were quite a few children in the play area and Sarah had lots of fun. Suddenly she came down through one of the slides crying like the world had come to an end. I comforted her and when she stopped crying I suggested we go home. No, she wanted to play more. “I just needed a hug and a kiss to play some more!” She got her hug and a kiss and off she went to play some more, as if nothing was wrong. Back to the place where she got hurt!

If we have been around children we know how quickly they get over things. And most of the time they are quick to forgive and forget.

Wouldn’t it be great if we as adults could get over our hurts as fast as they do, and then go right back into the battle?

What is a hug and a kiss for you? What do you need to get over your hurts and move on?

Here are some nuggets from God’s Word. Much better than the chicken nuggets Sarah feasted on today!

Ephesians 4:32
Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.
Ephesians 4:2-3
Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.
Colossians 3:13
Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.
Matthew 6:14-15
For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

I’m enjoying Sarah’s stay with me very much. The first day we arrived home I looked for the bread I had packed and couldn’t find it. I made some drama of the situation and told her how sad I was that the bread was gone. She came up to me and gave me a big hug, saying, “Don’t be sad. It’s going to be okay!” That was a hug I will cherish a long time.

Maybe there is someone in your life today that could benefit from a hug.  It doesn’t have to be a hug and a kiss. Sometimes just a hug will do!

Sarah positioned to do spelling words while I had my shower

Sarah filled the entire page with words and took her paper to church. Back in the car, ready to go home, she realized her paper with the spelling words was missing. I wanted to dismiss the case and told her she could write some new words, but, no, that wouldn’t work. We went back inside. Our pastor’s wife was kind enough to take Sarah back to the class to look for her missing paper. It took them some time, but they finally found it, of all places, in the trash can! She quickly forgave the person that had considered her work of art trash.

Quick to dry our tears. Quick to forgive. That’s the lesson a three-year-old gives us today!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

