A Baptism Celebration

We had a baptism celebration at our church last night. Eight people followed the Lord in this act of obedience. A father baptized his two daughters. Our youth pastor baptized one of his daughters and some of the youth. Our senior pastor baptized the others. Little Sarah, of course, wished she could be baptized. Her day will come, when she understands the meaning and makes her decision to follow Jesus!

Some of the people being baptized invited the church to a dinner afterwards. While getting ready for the dinner and doing the shopping they happily told everyone that it was for a celebration. They were being baptized! And we had good fellowship!

I remember my baptism, at nine years of age, as vivid as if it were yesterday. I had such a glorious feeling of happiness I wished that I could be baptized every day!

In baptism you declare to the world that you have died with Christ and that you are raised with Him to walk a new life of obedience to God. It is for sure a celebration, and it was a glorious one at Faith Assembly in Springfield, Mo. last night.

I wasn’t able to get a good picture of the baptisms last night, but here is one of my friend and pastor Julio Rojas in Peru, baptizing in one of the chilly rivers of the Andes Mountains.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

