Q is for Quietness

It’s interesting that I should reach the Q for quietness the week when it’s less “quiet” in my life. My grandchildren have spring break and I am taking care of them when my daughter goes to work. Quietness is not a word to describe these days. But there is another “quietness,” the quietness of the soul.

Through the prophet Isaiah God declared, “Woe to the obstinate children…to those who carry out plans that are not mine… In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it” (Isaiah 30:1,15).

Isn’t that typical of us humans? God offers us the perfect plan and we will have none of it. But if we follow his ways, “The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever” (Isaiah 32:17).

The shepherd, later king, David wrote about the LORD as his shepherd, leading him beside quiet waters (Psalm 23:2). Picture yourself sitting by a brook that runs calmly. The sun is shining on the waters and they glow and sparkle. The grass is a rich green and the flowers are bright and colorful. Some sheep are grazing in the distance, no clouds in the sky. What a restful moment!

We need those times of quietness. I’m illustrating with a birdhouse from Sweden. I picture the birds having a quiet and peaceful time enjoying the house somebody kindly made for them. Jesus used the birds as examples of how God cares for us.

Matthew 6:26,27
“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

In this world of hustle and bustle we need to learn to quiet down, to be still and wait on the Lord.

Psalm 46:10
“Be still, and know that I am God.”

Lamentations 3:25,26
“The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.”

Psalm 37:7
“Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him.”

Psalm 62:1,2
My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”

Psalm 116:7
“Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you.”

Psalm 131:2
But I have stilled and quieted my soul;
like a weaned child with its mother,
like a weaned child is my soul within me.

Here is Jesus invitation to find rest I him:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

1 Thessalonians 4:11
“Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you.”

Zephaniah 3:17
The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.”

Zechariah 2:13
“Be still before the LORD, all mankind.”

At the moment it is kind of quiet. Brianna and Sarah are playing a game on the computer, David is building things with his Legos, Lana is taking care of personal business. I better get busy publishing my thoughts about quietness before there might be a storm. Usually there is quiet before the storm.

I know I’m not going to have a “quiet” day, but I have quieted my soul in the presence of God and I’m ready to have a good day.

Remember, in “quietness and trust” is your strength.

May you a have a good and quiet day!

My “storm” has started; the quiet is broken!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's for Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

