Inside the Box

I read something interesting yesterday, about doing something “inside the box”! Usually we talk about going “outside the box,” which is something appealing to me. I remember since very young I didn’t want to be like everybody else nor do things like everybody else. I even changed the day when my girls got their weekly goodies. When we lived in Sweden everybody did it on Saturdays, so my girls got theirs con Fridays!

As I think about it, that might seem like some kind of rebellion. I don’t know, but I’ve always wanted to do things differently. We are unique. God doesn’t make us on an assembly line. Each one if fashioned individually with unique gifts and qualities. Let’s celebrate our uniqueness!

I have a stack of cardboard boxed in my garage, saved up for next time I will move. Now I know what to do with some of the boxes (if I decide to). Use them as planters!

This is a new idea, which I read about in Birds & Blooms Magazine. Plant in the boxes. Line them with plastic so they will hold up better (cutting some drainage holes). If you’re like me, you’ll decorate them before doing the planting.

Check out http://birdsandblooms.com/mag.

I was totally “in the box” yesterday. No blogging in English because it took me the entire day and evening to get my Spanish story done with the activities that go with it. This morning I got the surprise of my life! On March 15 that page had 330 visitors. Overall I had more than 1000 visitors last week. If I only reach 10 children through each visitor, that is 10,000! I am slowly but surely reaching my goal of 10 million.

While I was in that “box” of concentration I got the most awesome phone call. A lady who used to work in our Christian bookstore in Huancayo (Librería El Alba) in the late 60’s called me. She was excited beyond belief to talk to me after 40 years. We were young in those days; we’re still young—at heart! I believe I’ve written about this before but repetition doesn’t hurt and if you’ve seen the picture, a second time will do just fine. She found me through this blog! No wonder I want to be faithful and blog every day (except when I’m in the Spanish “concentration” box!).

I have stuff inside my “box” that I keep to myself. Today I’m going to take out a concern and put it outside. I need help in prayer. You have read many stories about my very-much-loved-David-boy. The grandchild that filled the void after my oldest daughter. He is smart and funny but he has many issues to struggle with, as do so many children these days. He has a high-functioning type of autism called Asperger’s Syndrome with sensory processing disorder and ADHD. Every time there is a change in his medications he goes “wild.” My son-in-law travels a lot in his job and this puts extra strain on my daughter to handle this boy. I told her we need to go on a “prayer campaign” for his healing. Only God knows what really goes on in David’s mind and body. If you would, pray with me for healing.

We all have things tucked in our boxes, which we carefully decorate to make them appear neat and tidy. Or am I the only one that does it? My mind is geared to the positive and I’m an optimist. I make it appear like I’m all put together and that everything is fine and that I have the most awesome grandkids in the world (of course, I do!); but as everybody else I have things to struggle with, and nothing rocks my little box more than something that rocks my daughter and her family.

This is where I stand today. My heart is crying out to God for David. I still have not done my taxes, I have not finished an editing job that is due this week, my house needs cleaning (PTL for the cleaning crew due on Monday!); but those are secondary things. David has priority.

What’s in your box? Share it with somebody that can pray with you. And if you have extra boxes and don’t want to spend money on planters, do your potting and planting this summer in cardboard boxes!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

