R is for Respect

Yesterday I spent the day showing “respect” to the country that so graciously has adopted me as one of its own. So what had I been doing? You guessed it! I was preparing to pay taxes. Now I have everything ready to send off to my friend that has been doing my tax returns for 15 plus years. (In the US we have to send our tax declaration by April 15.) I think that paying taxes shows respect. It’s really not a choice. We live in this country so we have to do it. But we have a choice to do it respectfully and joyfully!

1 Peter 2:17
Show proper respect to everyone:

  • Love the brotherhood of believers,
  • fear God,
  • honor the king.

This covers it all. We don’t have a king but we have a President. Are you participating in the prayer chain for our country and our government? I have an alarm set on my phone for 8.00 pm Central time. When I’m with my grandkids and they hear it, they know exactly what it means. “It’s time to pray for the President!” That’s one way to show honor and respect—to pray for our leaders, even if we don’t agree with their politics.

Here are some things God says in His Word about respect:

Leviticus19:3
Each of you must respect his mother and father, and you must observe my Sabbaths. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:32
Rise in the presence of the aged, show respect for the elderly and revere your God. I am the LORD.

Proverbs 11:16,17
A kindhearted woman gains respect,
but ruthless men gain only wealth.
A kind man benefits himself,
but a cruel man brings trouble on himself.

Romans 13:7
Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

Ephesians 5:33
However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

Ephesians 6:5
Slaves [which for us would mean “employee”], obey your earthly masters with respect and fear, and with sincerity of heart, just as you would obey Christ.

1 Thessalonians 5:12,13
Now we ask you, brothers, to respect those who work hard among you [your pastor, for instance], who are over you in the Lord and who admonish you. Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work.

If you are a parent, treat your children with respect. That way they will learn in the home how to treat others.

If you are a son or daughter (which we all are!), treat your parents with respect.

If you are a student, respect your teachers.

If you are a teacher, treat your students with utmost respect.

Be respectful in the workplace.

Think about what it means to be respectful and apply it in all areas of your life.

Here are some definitions:

  • Feel or show honor or esteem
  • Hold in high regard
  • Treat with dutiful regard
  • To show consideration for
  • Avoid intruding upon or interfering with
  • Courteous expression of regard (I like this one!)

This is a very much appropriate quality in the ABC’s of Christian Living. Let us show “proper respect to everyone”!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's for Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

