Pray for Silvia

Wibel Quispe Ñahui is the man I wrote about a couple of weeks ago. He was so happy because he finally had landed a job, driving a bus between Huancayo and Tarma in the Andes Mountains of Peru. It’s a very winding road with precipices. In our early missionary days my husband, Bengt, and I used to drive to Tarma every week to hold services. We would leave in the early afternoon, Bengt would preach in the evening service, and then we would drive home and arrive in the middle of the night at best. That went on until I was too far gone in my first pregnancy. Bengt could not go alone because he had not learned the language and I was his interpreter.

Poor Bengt, the last time we were there he was in the middle of preaching on his favorite subject—John the Baptizer. I got a spell of feeling queasy and had to run out and leave him standing, totally stranded. There was no way I could go back to interpreting. People were understanding. To make the trip home a little more bearable for me we took a long route over the mining city of La Oroya. There the road was paved. It was almost dawn when we finally arrived home. I know that road and I know how treacherous it can be.

The first time Wibel showed up for his new job at the wheel of a bus going to Tarma, he lost control and the bus rolled down a precipice. Five people were killed and several injured. Wilber did not have a scratch but he was found guilty of man slaughter and was put in prison. What a sad ending to such a happy beginning!

Wilber and his family

This is a sad tragedy for Silvia (40 years old) and their three girls. Lakhsmi (12) wants to be a missionary when she grows up. Then there is Noria (6) and Nedda (3). Silvia has problems with her hips and cannot do any heavy work or walking. For some income, she has started to make “tamales”, a corn dough wrapper in leafs and then steamed. This cannot bring in much money but that’s all she can do. Her girls get a meal a day at a feeding station my parents founded many years ago.

Wibel is in prison in Tarma, quite some ways from where they live. He has been assigned a lawyer by the state, but that man is asking Silvia for travel expense, food, hotel, etc. He has no consideration for her dire situation. There are no food stamps to be had in Peru. She cannot go to the authorities and be put on “well-fare.” I’m going to send her some help, together with the $15.00 my grandchildren gave when I told them about this family. Maybe you want to help.

I doubt that Silvia and her girls will be able to travel to visit Wibel in prison. I’m asking you to pray for Silvia. Pray also for Wibel and the girls. Our loving Father will care for them, but he uses vessels like you and me.

Don’t forget to pray for Silvia!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Peru. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

