The Ultimate Act of Generosity

Thirty years ago I wrote a Bible study book with twenty lessons about Our Lord Jesus Christ. I’m revising it now to publish on the Internet. It’s wonderful to go though these lessons and make them available once more. My Spanish-speaking friends will be happy.

I’m enjoying a quiet afternoon reading and updating these lessons. The kids went egg-hunting with their mother.

This morning the kids and I had the house to ourselves. (I’m visiting them for Easter.) The parents went shopping. A few weeks ago the older girls and I had been to Hobby Lobby (a store with all kinds of crafts) and we had bought some Easter decorations for them to color. Today was the perfect time to do it.

We are having dinner at their pastor’s house tomorrow. Brianna colored decorations for each one of their family members. The other kids just did something for themselves. I have seen that generosity in Brianna before. She was only four years old when she visited me one time in Springfield. It was very important for her to make presents to take home for everyone. Another time when she visited, she did the same thing. It’s so beautiful when we think of others with love!

This week we are celebrating the ultimate act of generosity.

2 Corinthians 8:9
For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich.

I heard a story one time about a father and his son that were taking a walk. By mistake they upset an ant-hill. The boy asked his father what they could do to fix it.

“Son,” said the father. “The only way we could help the ants is if we became one of them.”

That is what God did for us. In Jesus he became one of us, to “fix” our messed up situation. Such generous love!

Have you thanked Jesus today for giving his life for you?

May this Easter bring you closer to Him!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

