Peace after the Storm

Peace after the storm! That’s how it feels. The house is quiet, except for the buzzing sound of the computer. My daughter and I have been out with the kids. Chili’s tricked us with coupons of getting a free kid’s meal for each adult. We had to take Brianna to town for her dance class so we thought we might as well have a treat and not worry about cooking.

It was exciting and the kids got wound up. But now there is peace after the storm. It wasn’t a hurricane, just a regular storm as when four kids are winding down for the day. But let me tell you we got compliments at the restaurant for well-behaved kids. I complimented the cook because I never before had such a good loaded baked potato soup. It was spicy!

I have started to be more generous with compliments lately. We need to be more generous with giving praise. I saw it in the face of the waiter, how she lit up when I said that, and when Lana-girl thanked her for the pizza, and Brianna added her thanks for the food. Why thank when you are paying for it? That’s not the point! It doesn’t matter if you’re paying for something, just say thanks and see faces lit up.

I’m editing a book titled Extravagant. Check it out at http://influenceresources.com Editing the Spanish translation, that is. I’ve just started so I can’t comment that much. I just thought about applying it to the treatment of others. Let’s be extravagant in giving praise!

Before I go back to the editing I want to show you a fun picture a missionary friend sent me from Bolivia. They visited Salar de Uyuni (or Salar de Tunupa), the world’s largest salt flat, an expanse of ground covered with salt in the high Andes. You can read about it if you Google Salar de Uyuni and then go to the information on Wikipedia. I just think the picture is cool.

Standing in a banana and on a pile of salt. You can’t do that every day. I wonder how salty that salt is.

Here is a reminder of what Jesus said about us being the salt of the earth.

Matthew 5:13
“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.
Mark 9:50
“Salt is good, but if it loses its saltiness, how can you make it salty again? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with each other.”

Am I salty? If I lose my saltiness, how can I be made salty again?

Let’s pray to God that we can be real salty. That way any storm can be turned into peace!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

