The Great Overseer

A friend of mine asked for prayer for her little grandson that has been diagnosed with an auto-immune disorder. He is just a baby and was hospitalized with a critically low blood count. I am praying for the little boy, as I know many others are.

The confidence of this grandmother spoke to me, as she wrote,“ I know God is in control and He will give us the strength to face whatever comes. I have a peace about it and we have placed [my grandson] in God’s hands. We will do all we can humanly do here, [then] give everything over to the Lord to oversee.”

What a privilege to know God oversees our situations. His promise stands through the ages: “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7)

One of my granddaughters needs some extra overseeing. For several years Brianna has complained of pain in her stomach. After several tests it was discovered she has celiac and lactose intolerance. But even abstaining from gluten and milk products has not done the trick. With more test it was additionally discovered that she has ulcers and that her gallbladder was not working.

Next week she will have surgery to remove her gallbladder. It is not something doctors want to do on a seven-year-old, but in her situation it is needed.

I got a call from her mother last night, saying, “We are now requesting your services again.” Of course, I will take care of the other kids. Her mother will have to stay overnight with her in the hospital.

My friend’s words are comforting to me, “We will do all we can humanly… [and] give everything over to the Lord to oversee.”

Maybe you have something going on in your life that has burdened you. Cast your care on the Lord and let him oversee your situation.

Here are some snapshots of the seven years of my little Brianna who will now join the “club” with her dad and her grandmother. We have both had our gallbladder removed.

Brianna was four years old. She was visiting me and I became very sick. So sick I had no energy to even get out of bed. This precious girl just sat at my bedside playing, like keeping vigil for me. She had asked me if we could be friends forever. She was showing me what real friends do for each other. Now I will return the favor. I’ll make sure that her mother can be with her every step of the way for this new “adventure.” Because, of course, to go under the knife is an adventure. With our prayers she will be in the best of hands, the Great Overseer’s!

This is the latest picture I took of Brianna with her sister Lana, both dressed up for their school pictures last week. Will you pray with me  for Brianna and for the doctor that will do the procedure? Let’s put both of them in the hands of the Great Overseer!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Overseer

  1. Janet Arancibia says:

    Cuenta conmigo, Kerstin. I’ll be praying for her!!

  2. Rebekah says:

    Definitely will be praying for Brianna and the whole family. God will oversee the care of this precious child. Angels will surround her and guard her well. Psalm 91:11: For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways. (ESV). Notice that it doesn’t say some of your ways…it says ALL of your wyas!

Leave a Reply

