The Shoes We Walk In

You have probably heard someone say that we shouldn’t judge anybody if we haven’t walked in their shoes. Here is a little bit of humor I picked up from a magazine.

Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.

That way, when you criticize them, you’re a mile away and your have their shoes. (Author unknown)

Last night I went with the seniors in my church to Stained Glass Theater in Ozarks. It’s a Christian theater and the put on goods plays. I was pleasantly surprised that the play was about George Müller.

Ever since I heard the story of George Müller I have loved it, especially his firm and unwavering faith in God and His provision. He was a Christian evangelist in Bristol, England who built orphanages. During his lifetime he cared for 10,000 children. He never asked for financial support, but prayed to God for all his needs.

To read about George Müller go to:

http://www.georgemuller.blogspot.com/

George Müller is a man whose shoes I would like to walk in. I admire his life of faith and the care he had for orphans. He was on the same page as our Father in Heaven.

Psalm 68:5
A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows,
is God in his holy dwelling.

Psalm 82:3,4
Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless;
maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed.
Rescue the weak and needy;
deliver them from the hand of the wicked.

Isaiah 1:17
Defend the cause of the fatherless,
plead the case of the widow.

Zechariah 7:10
Do not oppress the widow or the fatherless,
the alien or the poor.

Psalm 10:14,17-18
But you, O God, do see trouble and grief;
you consider it to take it in hand.
The victim commits himself to you;
you are the helper of the fatherless.
You hear, O LORD, the desire of the afflicted;
you encourage them, and you listen to their cry,
defending the fatherless and the oppressed.

These were my late daughter Eva-Marie’s Swedish clogs. Her legs were not strong enough to balance those “shoes.” I keep them because they remind me of my sweet girl. The first years of her life we didn’t know what was wrong with her. She did not grow and develop normally. A doctor looked at me accusingly and said, “Look at you, and look at this pathetic child of yours.” I was strong and healthy and my girl looked like one of those undernourished kids you see in ads and TV-promotions to raise money for the starving masses. I’m sure he thought I didn’t take care of her.

The worst experience came in a church nursery in Chicago, when we visited my brother on our way to Sweden. A lady that had a boy the same age as my little princess, looked at her (pathetically thin) and with disdain, said, “Is that your girl? Look at her! Now look at my boy!”

Yes, I saw her boy! But she had not walked in our shoes! Oh, how that hurt!

A few months later I would have answers to all my questions about the health of my daughter. She was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis. (I have written about this in a blog The Battle with Cystic Fibrosis.)

We don’t know what kind of shoes people walk in. Appearances can be so deceiving.

The Bible talks about the kind of shoes we should put on: the Good News of peace (see Ephesians 5:16).

Isaiah 52:7
How beautiful on the mountains
are the feet of those who bring good news,
who proclaim peace,
who bring good tidings,
who proclaim salvation,
who say to Zion, “Your God reigns!”

Let’s put on the shoes of Good News of peace. Instead of criticizing or judging may we remember that each one has their own shoes. We might not even like to take a couple of steps in the other person’s shoes.

May we always wear the shoes of love and peace!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Impact 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

