Quick Healing

It’s amazing how quickly the healing goes with young children. Brianna (7) had a laparoscopic procedure on Tuesday to remove her gallbladder. It’s Friday and she is up and running (not really, she is not allowed to run!).

Her dad had the procedure done three years ago; I had it done in 1999. We did not come around that quickly. My late daughter Eva-Marie had her gallbladder surgery the old fashion way. It took weeks for her to heal!

Brianna and balloons for each of her siblings

Brianna knows how to work the system (if you get what I mean). When it’s time to do a chore or she wants extra attention, then her little tummy is aching. I think most of us know how to take advantage of a situation.

I told the kids about my hospital experience at age eleven. We lived in Arequipa, Peru, my parents Swedish missionaries. I had an appendix problem and was put in the hospital for surgery. They had very limited financial resources, especially because they helped out needy people. I was put in a general ward with 36 women of all ages and conditions. The nurses spent most of their time playing cards and those less sick took care of the ones in worse condition. My mom helped me out.

I heard the doctors talking at the foot of my bed about not wanting to operate on me as they thought I should be able to pay for the procedure. Happily for me we had a doctor friend that talked to his colleagues and they did the surgery. My appendix was so bad off that they had to make a 4 inches incision. I mostly remember how much it hurt, especially when I came home and some friends (boys) came over and got a kick out of making me laugh. That is one time when I didn’t want to hear jokes!

I can see the rows of beds in front of me and remember what impressed me the most—the old lady that died in the bed beside me, and the young girl on the other side who had no one to come and help her get up and take walks after her surgery.

My Brianna had her own room at St. Francis Children’s Hospital in Tulsa. Her mother got to stay with her. She had optimal service and got her own little teddy bear to toke home. She has four little scars as reminders and not a big, long incision.

Isn’t it wonderful how medical science is progressing? Still there are many people around the world and even in our country who don’t get the service they need because they have no way to pay for it.

Once in history, in a tiny part of the globe, there was healing for anybody who would step up and ask for it. I’m marveled and amazed every time I read the accounts, and really the same can be true today, because the person that made it possible is the same yesterday, today, and forever. I’m talking about Jesus when he walked on earth.

Matthew 8:16-17
When evening came, many who were demon-possessed were brought to him, and he drove out the spirits with a word and healed all the sick. This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah: “He took up our infirmities and carried our diseases.”

Matthew 12:15-16
Aware of this, Jesus withdrew from that place. Many followed him, and he healed all their sick.

Matthew 14:35-36
People brought all their sick to him and begged him to let the sick just touch the edge of his cloak, and all who touched him were healed.

Luke 4:40
When the sun was setting, the people brought to Jesus all who had various kinds of sickness, and laying his hands on each one, he healed them.

Jesus has the same power today. There are people all over the world that can testify of his healing power. I’m one of them! God has done many miracles in my life. Maybe the most dramatic one was when he made one of my legs grow to fit the size of the other. I think I’ve written about it before.

The memories of God’s healing grace fill my heart as I am filled with thankfulness for a surgery gone well and the quick healing.

My son-in-law told Brianna that they are now twins because both have had the same procedure.

“No,” said Brianna, “we can’t be twins. You are old!”

I wonder what she’d say if I told her both of us could be twins. Brianna probably say, “No, you are ancient!”

Never forget: There is healing in the Name of Jesus!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

