U is for Unity

Psalm 133
How wonderful it is, how pleasant,

when brothers live together in harmony!
2 For harmony is as precious as the fragrant anointing oil
that was poured over Aaron’s head,
that ran down his beard
and onto the border of his robe.
3 Harmony is as refreshing as the dew from Mount Hermon
that falls on the mountains of Zion.
And the LORD has pronounced his blessing,
even life forevermore. (NLT)

Unity is one of the most beautiful things in life. It is for sure worthy to be in the ABC’s for Christian Living. Last night I had to have a talk with two of my “girls” about it.

Brianna is a leader, and a “bossy” one; Lana is a follower, but she also has a mind of her own. Brianna was preparing to play “club” and her big problem was that Lana wouldn’t cooperate under her rules, because she was set on being an animal, and Brianna didn’t want any animals in the club.

Brianna cannot understand why her big sister Lana in all the games, always, wants to be an animal. I could not understand what the big problem was. So, what? Let Lana be an animal! No, that would not do! There would be no animals in Brianna’s club!

After much discussion we ended up playing school. I, the grandmother, was the teacher, and the girls were my students. Guess what? I had an animal student in my class! (Who would that be?!)

I wish it was only a kid thing this struggle for power and to have our own way. It’s really something we have to battle with all our life. No wonder the Bible talks a lot about unity and living in harmony.

Jesus prayer for his disciples, and for everyone who would become his disciples through the ages, was a prayer for unity.

John 17:11, 20-23
I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name–the name you gave me–so that they may be one as we are one. 20 My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22 I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: 23 I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

The Early Church in Jerusalem left us a good example of the unity Jesus had prayed for.

Acts 2:44; 4:32, 34,35
All were together and had everything in common… the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had… There were no needy persons among them. For from time to time those who owned lands or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales and put it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to anyone as he had need.

Let’s look at a few things the apostle Paul wrote about unity and harmony.

Romans 12:16;15:5-6
Live in harmony with one another.
May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus, so that with one heart and mouth you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Ephesian 4:3, 13
Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace…
until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.

Philippians 2:2-4
Make my joy complete by being like-minded
, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. 4 Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Colossians 3:12-14
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

I want to pray like the songwriter:

“Make us ONE, Lord, make us ONE!”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's for Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

