Child-like but not Childish

We ought to be child-like but not childish was one of the points our pastor mentioned last night in his Bible study. This week I’m having a close look at the meaning of “child-like.” Sarah is spending the week with me and we are having lots of interesting interaction. I hope to be done writing before she is done with “sleeping in.” She went to bed lots later then her usual bed-time last night.

While I went to Bible study Sarah was in the children’s department in the Rainbows class. She was very excited about her evening. As we walked to the car she saw a star in the sky. “A star!” she said. “Maybe this star can lead us to your house!” And it did! She commented on that when we got to my driveway.

Before we started our drive home, Sarah commented on the teacher she had that evening, “I wish I could have stayed. I liked my teacher. I wish I could go home with my teacher.”

She wasn’t done giving kudos for the evening. When we came home there was a police car parked by our driveway. It happened that a stray dog had attacked the back porch of my neighbor across the street to get to her cat! So she had called the police. We stayed out talking for a while and Sarah showed her love by giving her a big hug. When my neighbor friend crossed the street to her house, Sarah called after her, “I wish I could stay with you!” That made the day for my neighbor (or should I say “night”?).

Wouldn’t that be a good child-like example to follow? Everybody needs to feel appreciated. Many times I feel like I would like to “stay” with someone (visit them) but then I presume they are busy, that they have other friends they would rather be with, and out of fear of being turned down I don’t say anything. A child will blurt out their feelings without hesitation. Where has my child-like audacity gone?

Today is the National Day of Prayer in the United States. We need to pray like a child, with the faith of a child.

Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 18:3,4).

We need to humble ourselves. And the “humbling” part is something Sarah will have to learn. She is very “proud” in one of her ways of thinking. “I can do whatever I want!” is one of her favorite phrases. She uses it when I give her instructions and she wants me to know that she has her way of seeing things. As long as she is in her Mormor’s house (Mormor is grandmother in Swedish, on the mother’s side) things are going to be done Mormor’s way!

I have told Sarah that to be happy she will have to learn to do not whatever she wants but what God wants. Nothing is more important than to do God’s will. And one of the things God wants us to do is exactly what is happening today around the country: to pray for each other, to pray for those in authority.

Prayer changes things is not just a saying. It is true! Many, many things have changed in my life thanks to prayer. Through prayer your circumstances can change.

Now the little child sleeping in my Princess Room is doing some noises that tell me there is wake-up going on. We have a busy day ahead of us.

By the way, Sarah is working on a book. She does drawings and writes all kinds of letters to go with it. I put them in a binder that has Sarah’s Book on the front page. One thing that has impressed me is the map she drew before leaving her house in Fort Gibson. It shows the winding road all the way to my house, with a “tornado” on one side; but we were not going to go through the tornado, because tornados leave things “broken.” That “map” goes with her every time we leave the house, and she also took it to church, and for each place we visit she shows it to me on the map.

O, such fun to have a little child to share some days with! I just wish my feet were well so we could do some more fun stuff together. In child-like faith I’m praying about my situation and one day, on this very blog, I’m sure I will tell you of a miracle healing!

Be child-like but don’t be childish!

Who would think of having lots of fun under some
sprinkling water in a sink?
Only a child!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Hapiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

