Sarah’s Birthday

For quite some time Sarah has been saying that she will turn four years old and then she will go to school. Today she turned four and first thing she said to her mom in the morning was that now she could go to school! She was very upset that she had to stay home when big brother and big sisters went out the door headed for school.

The day is over. We had cake for dessert in honor of the little one and now it’s time for the kids to go to bed. I’m taking advantage of a beautiful, quiet evening, with just the right temperature to sit outside. The birds are singing their evening songs. It’s just the perfect atmosphere to relax and look back. It’s great to have a lap-top and sit outside looking at the pictures. Being the addicted photographer that I am, there are quite a few. Would you like to look at some?

This picture has a special story. One day when my daughter was walking in the Mall with Sarah and the doll in a stroller, somebody came around and asked if they were twins! I guess that person needed to get her eyes checked!

This is the precious little one three years ago, digging into her first birthday cake!

Loving jewelry! This morning, to do something fun since Sarah didn’t get to go to school, we made a necklace for her. I like to work with beads. It’s relaxing, and the colors are soothing for the soul. I love colors!

Beads and colors don’t compare to the soothing effects of prayer for the soul. I hope Sarah will make that one of her priorities in life. Nothing compares to fellowship with the Lord!

She is a smart cookie this now-four-year-old! After doing the necklace this morning she wanted to play CLUE, so we did but with a special set of rules since that is a game for older kids. By mistake I dropped some cards on the floor and I asked Sarah to pick them up, which she did. Later she dropped a card. “Mormor (Grandmother), I picked up the cards for you. Now it’s your turn to pick up my card!” She was right. We had to be fair. But then I explained how much easier it is for a four-year-old to get down on the floor to pick up something. And she did pick up the card.

The birds are winding down in their singing, the air is getting chilly. So this will have to do for now. Tomorrow is another day Sarah and I will spend together. There will not be many more of just her and I, because before we know it, she will be off to school.

Every moment one can spend with a little one is a treasure.  Now I have one more of those days to put in my treasure chest. I just wish my dear husband could have been here to enjoy Sarah. But he will meet her in heaven. How precious to have that hope!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

