The Pains of Old Age

In Proverbs 20:29 we read, “The glory of young men is their strength, gray hair the splendor of the old.” When the years have piled up, don’t we wish we had the strength of youth?

Just as our body ages, so our faithful machines get old. And anything that has to do with computer technology ages FAST!

Seventeen years ago I bought a printer Laserjet 5P. I paid a fortune for it—at least $500. It has been a faithful servant all these years. But dear Faithful can’t keep up with all the new programs.

Today I worked all day on Bible lessons and made PDF files so I could print them. Would you believe that one 5-page lesson, yes one lesson, took close to two hours to print! With the 12 lessons I needed to print it would have taken me almost 24 hours!

At home I have a printer that does it in minutes, a printer that with rebates cost me $50. But an ink cartrige costs more than the printer! I left old Faithful in my home away from home but the only good it does me is to print Word files. I borrowed my daughter’s printer and the lessons got done in a jiffy.

I have a lap-top that I bought at the same time and paid over $3,000 for. What good does it do me today? None in the least. I keep it as a reminder of times gone by. The printer and the lap-top, together with a big old screen that cost $600 did the job of printing hundreds of Bible lessons which than were sent to a print shop in Miami to be mass-produced for all the Hispanic world.

Both the printer and the “operator” have lost strength. Thinking of that, I looked up some encouraging passages in God’s Word.

Psalm 92:12-15
The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
13 planted in the house of the LORD,
they will flourish in the courts of our God.
14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
they will stay fresh and green,
15 proclaiming, “The LORD is upright;
he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

Isaiah 46:3,4
Listen to me, O house of Jacob,
all you who remain of the house of Israel,
you whom I have upheld since you were conceived,
and have carried since your birth.
4 Even to your old age and gray hairs
I am he, I am he who will sustain you.
I have made you and I will carry you;
I will sustain you and I will rescue you.

Psalm 71:17,18
Since my youth, O God, you have taught me,
and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.
18 Even when I am old and gray,
do not forsake me, O God,
till I declare your power to the next generation,
your might to all who are to come.

I’m so glad that even in “old age” (but with youthful heart) I can declare God’s love and grace to the next generation. That is what I am devoting my retirement years to!

If my old printer could talk, what would it say? “Don’t toss me!”

Old Faithful is one of the many reminders I have of God’s faithfulness. As a young woman I had my strength. My gray hairs are now my splendor. In some ways I’m like my old printer. Things that some years ago were so “easy,” now take forever to get done. Of course, “forever” is a very long time. I’m glad God doesn’t toss us. As long as we have breath we have the privilege to serve him. Even with the pains of old age.

I’m not old. I’ve just stepped over the threshold of the golden years. I believe the best is yet to come!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

