“Miami te espera”

Let’s go back to 1987. We were missionaries living in Bolivia. Our girls were 15 and 17. We were considering a move to our home-country Sweden so they could continue their studies. My husband would take a pastorate; I hoped to continue writing curriculum, as I was doing in Bolivia.

Then God spoke to my heart about moving to the United States to work on curriculum with one of the Christian publishing companies. I talked it over with my husband but he wasn’t ready to think about it. I left it up to him to bring up the subject again.

One day he told me to go ahead with plans of working with that company. I felt very inadequate and wondered how I should approach the matter. Amazing things started happening that were pointers in that direction. I even managed to get the name of the President of the company so I could write a letter and offer my services. Today I would just have typed his name in a search engine on the internet, but at that time I did not even know how to use a computer.

Through prayer and soul-searching it became clear to us that our next step should be a move to Miami. There would be many miracles needed for it to come true, but we were ready to accept the challenge.

Something very interesting happened during that time. One of the businesses in Cochabamba, the town where we lived and worked, announced a contest. The prize was a trip to Miami. Every day, month after month, across the bottom front page of the newspaper the words “Miami te espera” [Miami awaits you] would flash at me.

The front page of my scrapbook from this adventure

 

A post card from Miami Beach was the only picture I could find from Miami. I wrote on it:

FLORIDA NEXT! Lord, open the way!
Like you opened a way through the Red Sea for the Israelites,
so you can go before us and prepare our entry to the USA, for your glory!

That card was a faith-builder. There were so many details to be worked out, so many unknowns. But no one could take the assurance from my heart that God wanted us in Miami.

First of all we needed a contact with the company to see if they had a job for me. Their curriculum was out-dated, but who was I to point that out? What I didn’t know was that they were praying for someone to update the curriculum. There was even a lady working on preliminary studies on how to get it done.

“Let’s take our time!” said my husband. In my heart I knew it was going to happen quickly.

We had contracted with a man to deliver our paper. Every day when he knocked on our door with the new edition, the only thing I could see was: “Miami te espera.”

My mind was full of questions, especially wondering what would happen with our daughter who had cystic fibrosis. How would we handle the medical bills?

To immigrate to a new country is a big undertaking. I felt like Abraham. “By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going (Hebrews 11:8).

There was only one thing I knew for sure: God had called us to Miami, it was awaiting us. The God who made the universe and set each star in its place would work out the details for us. Our responsibility was to OBEY and GO. And we were ready!

With this as a backdrop, you might understand why the “dismissal” I talked about yesterday was so devastating. I felt like I had failed God. Looking back I see God’s merciful hand. I was burnt out and needed a break and he was giving it to me.

My parents have written about their experiences as missionaries in a book called, “A Life of Adventure.” I’m walking in their footsteps. My life is also one of adventure.

How we arrived in Miami is a miracle of miracles. (To be continued)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Miami te espera”

  1. Undoubtedly! It was our Lord talking to you and I admire your obedience as Abraham did it. Many times, as you said, we fail him because of eyes deviation due to some personal momentary attractions as Lot’s wife did and she remained as salt for ever and ever…However, it’s His holy mercies and love that keep us moving forward to the goal He wants us to achive.
    May the Lord bless you Hermana Che. Truly your testimony is a great school for us christians who also are in the path of running the race like athletes do.
    May the Lord bless you all.
    vicky

  2. kelund says:

    It WAS God leading us. It was not easy, but with the Lord’s help we made it one day at a time!

  3. Pingback: Mission Accomplished | Kerstin Lundquist's Blog

  4. Pingback: Can’t Wait to Hug Jesus | Kerstin Lundquist's Blog

Leave a Reply

