Multiplied by Four

Is anything too hard for the LORD? (Genesis 18:14)

I have framed this Bible verse from one of the lesson I publish on the internet. I put it by my mirror in the bathroom, so I will see it every day, and several times a day as a reminder that nothing is too hard for God. The vision of reaching out with my materials in other languages is something impossible for me, but not for the Lord who has put it in my heart.

I ended my blog yesterday asking the question, How will we survive? When I had said “yes” to go where God was leading, even with a salary that was below the “starvation” line, a wonderful peace swept over me. I knew that God miraculously would sustain us.

I need to make a parenthesis and update you on some miracles I’ve had this week. One of the concerns in this publishing venture that I have taken on is to acquire artwork. For most of the lessons I have pictures, but for others I don’t. This issue has been one on the top of my prayer list. This week I made contact with a man in Costa Rica and we have agreed on a reasonable price for pictures he will do. I am so thankful for this.

One of my first Sunday school boys from Peru is an artist. Back and forth over the years he has done work for me. Months ago I sent him an assignment to do 20 pictures for a series on Moses and Joshua. A few weeks ago I sent him a reminder that I really needed the pictures. If he had not done them I planned to send the assignment to this Costa Rica man.

My friend from Peru, who is like a son to me, called me last night. He has had lots of obstacles in his life these last few years, and it was good to hear that he is drawing closer to God. About the pictures he said they are almost done. It had taken him quite some time to get inspiration. And to draw good pictures you have to be inspired!

We talked about the subject of nothing being too hard for God. He has been reading about Elijah lately and the miracles he did.

“Elijah was a man just like us. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops” (James 5:17-18).

In 1968, when my friend was just nine years old, I was planning my first camp with my Sunday school kids. The problem was the rain! When it rains, it pours! It was just a dirt road that led to the campsite, and a very dangerous mountain road. We could easily get stuck or slide off into the precipice. The kids were devastated because due to the rain we would have to cancel our plans.

We prayed about it, and God stopped the rain. We had our camp!

First Camp in Ahuac, Peru

I had forgotten this incident but my friend reminded me of it last night. He said that experience has been with him throughout his life. God heard the prayers of the boys and girls! That reminds me of an experience my dad had with rain. He was building a church in Tarma, Peru in the time of the years when it rains. He prayed to the Lord and that year God sent the rain at night. Not one day did they have to stop the construction! It only rained at night!

Dad was building by faith! Every week he would tell his workers that he didn’t know if he’d have money to hire them for another week. But every week some miracle would happen and he would have the money he needed for materials and workers. Even to this day that church stands as a testimony of God’s miraculous provision.

The House of Prayer– a miracle building!

Is anything too hard for the LORD? No! When God guides, he provides!

Now God was guiding us to go to Miami, but how would we survive?

Sylvia, the President’s assistant, told him about my concerns, and that I couldn’t understand why they paid so little. He knew the customs in different cultures and told Sylvia what to ask me.

“Are you aware this amount is weekly?” she asked me. Weekly?! I’d never heard of such a thing! I was used to monthly salaries; even quarterly. Our first years on the mission field we received our pay-check every three months. That required quite a lot of planning. Not as much as for my parents, who in the beginning of their ministry received their checks every six month! Talk about budgeting!

Here I was, ready to “starve,” and Sylvia comes with the news that I needed to multiply 400 by 4. That made quite a difference. It wasn’t going to be enough to live on in Miami, because we were four adults, and no one could take on an extra job. But that would add to more miracles.

God is awesome. He’s wonderful, great, marvelous, merciful… There aren’t words enough to express the magnitude of his glory.

There I was, in Venezuela, ready to take a great leap into the unknown. You know what? A leap of faith is not a leap into the unknown. It is a leap into the loving arms of our Father. He has promised that he will never leave us and never forsake us.

Is anything too hard for the LORD? No!

“Thus far has the LORD helped us,” said the prophet of old (1 Samuel 7:12). God had done the same for our family. He would be with us every step of the way. The big question was: How would we get to Miami? (To be continued)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

