Memorial Day Memories

I have made memories with my grandson David. This is Memorial Day, honoring those who have fought for our freedom; a day when many visit the graves of their loved ones. Let me share some pictures of David’s visit to his aunt Eva’s grave.

David has learned to make duct tape flowers so he made one for Eva. He was so proud of it, and of some other flowers he found in my flower-bin.

As we arrived at the cemetery some people were handing out flags. David enjoyed getting an American flag. We went to the grave and discarded the old flowers so David could put the bouquet he had prepared. Then we drove up to the chapel where his grandfather’s urn is.

Here are some pictures of the “flag parade” in honor of this day. The quality is not the best because I take the pictures as I drive by, through the windshield.

Our next stop was Walmart to buy some food. Last evening I had asked David to write a list of what we needed. He was so cute, walking alongside of me, list in hand. I had a few extra things on my mind to buy but that didn’t sit well with David. What about the list? We needed to follow the list! I’ll let you decipher. Watermelon was not on the list, but we got a big one!

“Will I get a toy?” That was his biggest concern. “Have I been behaving so that I deserve a toy?” What should I say? We had a big mishap last night. David hit the side table I use when I sit outside and the glass top broke into millions of pieces. But, as he said, it was an accident. And it’s just a thing! (I need to “David proof”!) I remember one time when a friend broke one of his mothers special tea cups. When it upset her, my dad asked, “Are you going to take that to heaven?” I think of that often. Of course, we need to use our things when we are here, but they are not worth getting upset about.

And what do I have now in my living room? A war zone!

The table is set up for Star Wars. I don’t understand it. I can’t say that I like it. But it keeps my precious boy busy. These are a few of my most precious days of the year. I have to make many happy memories. And I have lots of moments to pray for him, that he will be a powerful man of God. Nothing could make this grandmother happier than to see her grandchildren following in the steps of their parents and grandparents, serving God .

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking
in the truth.” –3 John 4

I wonder what happy memories we will make tomorrow!

(If you’re wondering, David got a Star Wars toy!)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

