A Pool and a Dishwasher

My grandson’s visit was short but intensive. When I delivered him home yesterday I had to drink Pepsi, eat chocolate, have a cup of coffee at the Oklahoma Welcome Center, and chew gum during all the drive to keep awake at the wheel. And after dinner I lay down to take a rest and slept until morning. That is what some days with an active eight-year-old will do to a Senior Citizen!

It’s a good thing I was somewhat younger when we moved to the States. Let me pick up where I left off in my story.

We came to the States so that I could work at Editorial Vida in Miami Florida. The big question was where we should find a place to live. Miami is surrounded by cities, like Ft. Lauderdale, Pembroke Pines, Dade, Hollywood, Coconut Creek, Sunrise, Margate… to just name a few. One of the workers at “Vida” recommended a motel to stay at in Hollywood. They had a weekly price and facilities to cook our food. That’s very common by the beach.

I knew it was the right place because at a first look out the window was a beautiful royal palm tree. Palm trees was what I had seen in the vision I had as a ten-year-old when Jesus called me to work for him with children. One of the avenues leading to the motel on the beach was framed with palm trees. I would cry out in admiration every time we drove by!

Beautiful Florida palm trees

First things first! The most sensible thing to do would be to find a school for our daughter Carina. We were tourists. I couldn’t very well go waltzing in to a public school and register her. How we ended up at Sheridan Hills Christian School I don’t remember, other than somebody recommending it to us. The principal was very understanding, being connected to missions in Brazil. Carina was offered a work scholarship.

God had been preparing Carina for this move that we had no clue about. She had been attending a Swedish school but for some reason wanted a change. There was an international school in the vicinity of Cochabamba where the studies were in English. Teachers varied from England, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa… so you can imagine the combination of accents. Not such an easy environment to learn the language in. But Carina got started and this was a great help for her when she was accepted at this school in the States.

Once we knew where the school would be we needed a place to live that was in the vicinity. I would have a long commute as the school was in Hollywood. As we started looking for houses one of the owners of the motel said he had a townhouse for rent. We wondered about what kind of place it would be, especially since the motel wasn’t in such good shape. Surprise! Surprise!

We didn’t know what a townhouse was but soon discovered that it is a semi-detached house in an area surrounded by similar houses. This one was a two-story with two bedrooms on the top floor and an open concept kitchen with a dining area and living room on the bottom. Two things stood out—a swimming pool and a dishwasher! I thought I’d come to heaven! Never in my life had I dreamed of living someplace with a swimming pool, and neither had I thought of ever having a dishwasher. The man offered us to rent this home for whatever he was paying on the mortgage.

Two very important components were taken care of. Our daughter could start school and we had a place to live. The town house was partly furnished—an added blessing!

Just as delighted as I was about the palm trees I was about the pool and the dishwasher. When I mentioned it to my new friends in Florida, it was no big deal for them. It’s common there. Nothing was common for me. Every little thing was a sign from my loving and caring Heavenly Father!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

