Reaching Six Figures

What is the worst part of being a grandmother? Age! Maybe not for everyone, but my daughter was 30 years old when she married so I am on the older side. Maybe my struggle with pain interferes. I used to have so much energy, but it’s gone. How do I know? After kid-sitting (4 eight and younger) for 24 hours and spending 3 hours on the road home, I crashed! I fixed me an omelet and sat down to eat it. Next thing I know it’s midnight. Somehow I stumbled to bed. I guess you can’t be young forever!

Sarah is a precious jewel. When I put her to bed Friday night we prayed for her mom and dad, who according to the kids were having a “sleep-over”! They went to Oklahoma City on a conference and since they spent the night there it was a sleep-over. When we finished praying Sarah said, “My dad is God!” I told her no. “Yes, my dad is God because he is strong.” I figured I’d let her daddy set her straight on that theological matter.

The next day when she was taking her nap I looked at her angel face and told David I was sad because we are not having any more babies. Sarah is starting school in the fall. “Now I have to wait until you and the girls have kids,” I said to him. I hope I will be around by that time. “We might not have kids,” said David. And then he wondered if he was ever going to have a girlfriend. “Nobody likes me at school,” he said. That pierced my heart. He struggles with his lack of social skills due to autism. But he has a family that loves him and this grandmother adores him. I pray continually that he will be a man of God when he grows up.

Something interesting happened on the way home. My son-in-law made me aware of the mile marker in my car. He figured I would like to take a picture for posterity. I have been writing about how God led us to Miami, Florida. There is a Miami in Oklahoma, although they pronounce it differently. I kept watching the dashboard so I wouldn’t miss the turn to six figures. And where do you think it happened? To me it was a God-thing. Of all the different places where the marker could have turned to 100000 it happened just at the Miami exit!

My Father knows how important details like these are to me so he made some things happen that placed me right at this spot on the precise time. I let the couple going on a “sleep-over” use my car. That’s how it happened! They drove the miles needed to place me in Miami when I reached 100000 with my red Cavalier. And when I came home my neighbors sun-flower was in full bloom giving me a happy welcome.

Just some thoughts on a cloudy Sunday afternoon. I’m still recovering from the crash after enjoying 24 very intensive hours with my grandchildren.

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reaching Six Figures

  1. Héctor says:

    Me gusta leer tus diferentes historias y mejor cuando cada una es diferente a las otras. Ahora detallas el efuerzo de las abuelitas son más efecientes a veces que las mamás en cuidar los niños o nietos, me he dado cuenta que mi señora es tambien una muy buena abuelita donde hay un nieto mayor con casi 16 años y seis nietas de 15-10-8-3-3 y 2 añitos más uno que no se sabe aún si es hombre o mujercita por nacer. Y la mayor parte de ellos ellas han tenido a su cargo por un determinado tiempo al cuidado de la abuela. Que tengas muy buenas felicidades junto a tu linda familia. Hasta pronto Héctor.

Leave a Reply

