The Guy in the Overhead Compartment

Picture yourself traveling by air. You have a carry-on baggage and get to your assigned seat. You open the compartment above your seat and a guy stares at you and wonders why you didn’t knock first.

You almost have a heart-attack!

This is not some fiction I’m making up. It really happened! The guy playing the trick was Nick Vujicic. He’s the young man born without limbs. Have you heard about him? Maybe you have seen some videos on You Tube .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnYPSw58sqA&feature=related

Nick’s blog:

http://www.lifewithoutlimbs.org/nicks-blog/nick-speaks-at-texas-governors-prayer-breakfast/

I’m reading his book Life Without Limits, Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life.

The above episode is hilarious. In Africa he went on a carousel ride. He got his caregiver to plop him down next to a nice big suitcase.

“Off I went with the rest of the bags and cases. I rode the wild carousel through the terminal, making like a statue, wearing my sunglasses, and drawing shocked stares, pointed fingers, and nervous laughter from other travelers, who weren’t sure if I was (a) a real person, or (b) the world’s most handsome duffel.”

The book is published by Doubleday. Do get it and read for yourself his inspiring story and the motivation he gives to live a life without limits.

Next time you travel by air, knock before you open an overhead bin. You never know! Nick might be taking a nap in it!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

