The Lord Needs it

We had a visiting missionary candidate family preach at our church yesterday. They are preparing themselves to answer the call to go to Turkey. Modern day Turkey is where the Gospel was first spread by the Apostle Paul and his co-laborers. Today that part of the world is almost 100% Muslim.

We were reminded of the time when Jesus sent two of his disciples to a nearby town to get a donkey for him. If they were asked why they took it, they were to say, “The Lord needs it.” It wasn’t that he was “in need,” but he was exercising his authority.

He is the Creator and Owner of the universe. He is entitled to whatever he asks of us. Are we willing to be used, to obey his commands? I have been telling you about God’s marching orders for our family when we were supposed to move to Miami. The Lord had “need” of us. What a privilege!

To answer “yes” to God’s call is not always easy. Hollywood Beach in Florida could tell you lots of stories of a forty-some Swedish lady that bicycled back and forth in the evenings, looking past the palm trees, past the sky, into the vast unknown, crying out to God about the basics. The answer was always the same:

“I will not leave you. I will not forsake you!”

Sometimes I would approach Father, saying, “Here comes the beggar again!” That’s how I felt. We were four adults living on my entry salary. I had to learn to ask for every detail. But he was taking care of every need. We did not go hungry one day!

Our Father knows what we need. He cares for all his creation. And he uses us to care for his creation. This summer one of his little birds had picked my front door light as its habitat. I don’t mind it at all, except for the “business cards” it leaves.

 I put the Times there to pick them up!

I’m housing one of God’s little birds!

If you look closely you will see the little bird. I had to be very quick in opening the door and taking the picture so I didn’t scare the little creature.

I love birds. We have a few trees around the neighborhood so there are birds. This is the tree from the neighbor that I look at when I sit outside. I used to have a big tree that housed lots of birds, but it was old. I had it cut down as a preventive measure in case we will have another ice storm.

Let’s be available! Whatever the Lord needs, let’s answer like Isaiah,

“Here am I, send me!

The missionary family going to Turkey had a considerable student loan to cover. They would not be accepted to leave for Turkey until it was paid off. God did not send for a donkey at that time, he “ordered” one of his servants in the business world to pay it off. What a miracle!

The man paying off the debt wanted to be an instrument, using what he had. The missionary family, leaving with two little children to the unknown world of Turkey are offering what they have.

On Saturday my husband’s brother turned 70. I know I did a little “errand” for the Lord to show him God cares (even if he isn’t interested in Him). I wrote people I knew in his vicinity and asked them to call him. He got some special birthday greetings that way. I don’t give up hope that one day he will answer God’s call to come to him.

“The Lord needs it!”

What does the Lord need from you and me today?

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

