Royal Palm Translations

Picking up the story on how God brought us to the United States, it will not be complete if I don’t tell you about Royal Palm Translations. Remember the townhouse with a swimming pool and a dishwasher? It was not for free! There was rent to pay.

My pay-check covered food, gas, and general expenses, or was it the rent for the townhouse it covered? Either way, it was not enough for our four-adults-household.

Have I mentioned the angel God assigned to me, to make sure I always had work on the side? Very early in our stay in this new country I started doing free-lance translations. The people at Editorial Vida were very gracious to provide this second source of income. Of course, that meant that the evenings were not free to relax, but being the “workaholic” I think I am, I didn’t mind.

I needed a name for this side-business. There was no debating about it, but the most natural thing was Royal Palm. I had waited for over thirty years to come to the place with palm trees that I saw in my vision as a ten-year-old. A Palm Tree had to be my symbol.

The “angel” made sure I always had work to do on the side. The jobs came gradually; they did not stack up one on top of the other to stress me. When one job was finished or about to be completed, there was always another project to take on. The interesting thing is that I have not solicited them; they have “solicited” me! And during the two years I had no steady income because of the dismissal, I had “Royal Palm” jobs to provide for us.

You might be wondering about my husband. What did he do? It was not easy for him being fifty years old when we came here, especially since he did not know the language. But he worked hard on learning English and managed to make himself understood. When somebody asked him about his accent, he would joke and say he was from Arkansas! (If you are from that beautiful State, please forgive him for joking about it.)

So, how did I know English? A couple of years I attended an American school for missionary kids in the jungle of Peru. That’s how I learned English. Really, it started in Canada. But that another story! I’ve written about it a while ago.

My husband traveled teaching at Bible schools and churches in some of the Latin American countries, and I’m happy to say that we covered expenses with our Royal Palm income. He went to Nicaragua, Guatemala, Peru, Bolivia… He pastored a Spanish Group in Boca Raton. When we moved to Colorado he worked as a driver for a car rental company, and when we moved to Springfield he got a job as a transporter at Lakeland Hospital. When he could no longer travel due to failing health, he took on the ministry of Intercessor and traveled the world in prayer!

I think the job I have most appreciated is working with ladies in Latin America, editing their devotionals to compile the «Biblia de la Mujer» (Women’s Bible). One of the jobs I did during my two year of Hiatus (yes, it was a break for me), was writing lessons for teen-agers for the United Bible Society. Had I still been at the publishing house this would not have been possible because of conflict of interests.

I am very much indebted to my father for helping me. He called himself Branch #2 of Royal Palm. He would do the basic translation and then I would edit and polish. I’ve also worked with my youngest sister (and still do). She translates and I polish and then we split the profit. That is my “angel’s” way of blessing us both!

Who have I translated and edited for?

Editorial Vida
Life Publishers
Gospel Publishing House
Editorial Patmos
Editorial Unilit
Nordic Relief Alliance
Alfalit International
O’Reilly Auto Parts
Oxford Health Care
Cox Home Parenteral Services
Bellefit
SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise)
United Bible Societies
Facultad de Teología
Book of Hope
Global University
RDM (Resource Development Ministry)
Alpha Captions
Convoy of Hope
Ebed Press
Roy Smeya
Harold Calkins
Faith in Action
Women in Ministry

Sorry about the long list, but it was fun going back and remembering. It could be much longer if I included all minor projects. But this is proof enough of God’s care for me and my family. When God guides, He provides. I’m living proof of that.

I’m still doing business. You might know somebody that needs translation. Why not recommend them Royal Palm?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Royal Palm Translations

  1. hector says:

    Es difícil reconocer las diferentes cosas que aveces tienen que hacer los misioneros fuera de lo espiritual teher que trabajar para asegurarse su sobrevivencia junto a su marido e hijos al tener que trabajar duro en trabajos que muchas veces no se conocen pero se tiene la resistencia de un hombre jefe de familia que de alguna forma está obligado para conseguir el sustento familiar. Caso que yo, claro que con una diferencia cuando en una oportunidad quedé sin trabajo con dos hijos y tuve que recurrir a Dios y su hijo Jesus para que ayudara no a trabajar sino a ser aprobado cuando se hacían los contactos por una nueva ocupación cuando en el país había una crisis grande. Y me acordé que tenía un terreno en un lugar estratégico y me faltaba pagar para ocuparlo. Pues lo hice y luego lo habilité instalando un negocio de maderas donde me fué muy bien gracias a mi gran amigo Jesús que me permitió esos buenos contactos para conseguir las maderas para mi negocio. Y de pronto se me presentó la oportunidad además de trabajar en mediería con abejas para producir miel donde hubieron buenas cosechas que la miel corría casi como agua criando al final cuatro hijos y una hija bien alimentados con el favor de Dios y ahora todos se manejan muy bien solos con sus familias quedando con nosotros solo el hijo mayor cuidando de su mamá y siendo muy bueno con su familia. Muy lindas tus historias vividas Kerstin pues veo que eres una mujer luchadora en lo que estás haciendo. Yo tengo un sobrino hijo de mi hermano viviendo en San Antonio Texas. En el mes de diciembre pasado vino a ver a sus padres. Muchas felicidades por su esfuerzo. Hasta Pronto.

Leave a Reply

