Father’s Day 2012

I had in mind to write some special words for fathers, honoring them on their day. Time ran away from me, so if I’m going to be ready early tomorrow to go on my very special vacation with my daughter, those special words will be written some other time. Let me just share parts of a newsletter I received this month, which fits well for Father’s Day. The following is a humorous quote from the writings of the late journalist Paul Harvey,

“A father is forced to endure childbirth without anesthesia.
He growls when he feels good and laughs when he’s scared.
He’s guilty of giving too much time to his business when his kids are growing up. He never feels entirely worthy in their eyes.  He lectures them when their grades aren’t as good as he thinks they should be – although secretly he knows it’s really the teacher’s fault!
Dads have tough exteriors and sometimes their hearts must be broken, otherwise nobody would know what’s inside.
They work hard smoothing rough places in the road for their sons, and give their daughters away to men who aren’t nearly smart enough, so they can have grandkids who are smarter than anybody else’s.
Fathers get old faster than other people.  Every day they enter the arena of work where they tackle the three-headed dragon of work, stress and monotony.
They make bets with insurance companies about who’ll live longest, and although they know the odds, they keep on betting until one day they lose . . . and the bet is paid off to the part of them they leave behind” (from Bob Gass’ The Word for You Today).

This is what the Bible has to say to fathers:

Ephesians 6:4
Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.

Colossians 3:21
Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.

To my godly father I am eternally thankful because he brought me up in the training and instruction of the Lord. He was strict and I didn’t like it as a kid. Now I’m thankful.

To my only and very much loved son-on-law I am thankful because he is bringing up my grandchildren in the training and instruction of the Lord.

Fathers, that is the best heritage you can give your children, to bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.

God bless all fathers who are doing their best to bring up their children as good citizens. If added to that is training and instruction of the Lord, double blessings.

Happy Father’s Day to you all!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fathers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

