Among Skyscrapers—Blog 666

It’s one thing to pray “From the ashes of my life, build a skyscraper for your glory.” It’s quite amazing to walk among skyscrapers. It puts the prayer in perspective.

It wasn’t the first time. As a teenager I visited the Empire State Building. Some years later I climbed (in an elevator, of course!) the tallest building in Chicago. Let me give you a hint! The city with the windows is neither of those two cities. Let me give you some more pictures today. Maybe now you can make out the “secret” city.

I can’t believe I’ve reached 666!

The weight of the gold that Solomon received yearly was
666
talents, not including the revenues brought in by
merchants and traders. Also all the kings of Arabia
and the governors of the land brought gold and silver
to Solomon.
(2 Chron 9:13-14)

Do you think the doors in his palace looked like this?  The worth of that gold would be close to 10 million dollars in today’s money, in other calculations it would be 500 million. We can’t know exactly. But it is a lot!!!

His carpets might have looked like the ones in the hotel we stayed at the first night. Very fancy!

Do you think he had beautiful chandeliers and decorations?

The book of Revelation talks about the number 666. One day the Antichrist will force everyone to receive a mark on his right hand or on his forehead,  so that no one could buy or sell unless they had the mark, which is the name of the beast or the number of his name.  “If anyone has insight, let him calculate the number of the beast, for it is man’s number. His number is 666” (Rev 13:18).

I am expecting to go home with Jesus before this happens. I hope you have the same expectation. Let Jesus be your Savior and Lord.  Then you have the hope of spending eternity with him.

To be back in the humid heat of Missouri is “misery”! But God had mercy on me today. I had an appointment to have an echo-gram done and had to drive clear across town. Guess what? We have a break in the heat and humidity. It was still hot. It was another kind of “hot” to watch the monitor when the technician did the test. I had never before seen my heart beating

This reminds me of something funny. My little granddaughter Sarah has a picture of the ultrasound when she was in her mother’s womb. She loves to look at it and calls it a skeleton. Isn’t it amazing with technology?

King David could never have imagined this when he wrote:

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your works are wonderful,

I know that full well.

My frame was not hidden from you

when I was made in the secret place.

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

your eyes saw my unformed body.

All the days ordained for me

were written in your book

before one of them came to be. (Psalm 139:14-16)

These days we can see the “secret place” where we are woven together. But it is still just as great of a wonder, because no one can understand how it happens. It all starts with a seed! Even the building of a skyscraper starts with a grain of sand!

Enjoy some more pictures!

“From the ashes of my life, build a skyscraper for your glory!”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Vacation 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

