Teacher’s Day

I have been busy, busy, with two big jobs to turn in on Monday. One of them is very much related to me as a teacher. A teacher! I always wanted to be a teacher; but I never had the opportunity to get a degree in teaching. I got a degree in preaching, if we could call my graduating from a Bible seminary that.

I’ve been a teacher in a classroom, but only as a substitute, and only during the three years we spent in Sweden at the end of the 70’s. That was traumatic, at best. The kids were out of control, as a campaign against punishment had been launched. One of the teachers I substituted for loved the profession, but she had to quit because the kids behavior was so outrageous.

I had a trick! When things got a little messy, I resorted to my experiences in Peru and the Peruvian National Anthem. The kids loved to hear Spanish wanted to hear the stories I would tell.

That was more than 30 years ago. I’ve been a teacher; but not in regular school. Now I teach through my writings, but the dream that keeps me going is the hope that my neuropathy will get better (totally well is the big dream!) so that I can travel in Latin America teaching teachers how to teach. Can someone with a degree in preaching do that? Most certainly! I want to teach how to teach children the Word of God!

Guess what a wonderful surprise I received this afternoon. I took a quick break and decided to check my Facebook account.

HAPPY TEACHER’S DAY, DEAR TEACHER! (Written in Spanish)

Teacher’s Day? Was it Teacher’s Day? I used what my son-in-law calls, “this wonderful thing called Google,” and came to Wikipedia, where there is a long list of Teacher’s Days, and sure enough, in Peru, today is that day.

“One day you showed me Jesus Christ, the Way, the Truth, and the Life. I pray that God will give you peace, and relief in your health. May God bless the feet that one day came to my homeland to show and teach the truth! A big hug from the distance.  My thought are always with you, who left marks (footprints) in my spiritual life.”

That is the best thing a teacher of God’s Word can hear. It was the adrenaline I needed to go on with my work. Vicky, who sent this greeting is a teacher, and English teacher. But she also teaches about Jesus. What a reward! First the kids get to know us. Then they get to know the Bible. But the ultimate goal is that they will get to know our Savior.

Are you a teacher? Really, all of us our teachers. Our life is an open book. What are we teaching?

 GOD BLESS ALL TEACHERS, BIG AND SMALL,
BECAUSE AS  I SAID, IN ONE WAY OR ANOTHER,
WE ARE ALL TEACHERS!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

