Accuracy with Scriptures

Lately I have been paying more than usual attention to detail in the Scripture stories. Since I’m having extra special artwork done for series of lessons I’m working on it’s been obvious how important accuracy is. A friend of mine was positive Jesus talked with Nicodemus on the roof top. Why? She had seen a picture of that in Sunday school as a kid.

I’ve been going back and forth with the artist I have working for me to make sure we have the details accurate, checking and double-checking Scripture.

It’s easy for us to let our imagination run wild, and when we are writing stories that is what we do. But we need to adhere to Scripture.

Let me give you a little test.

  • How old was Abraham when God gave him the promise that through his offspring the nations of the world would be blessed? (75 or 99)
  • Who suggested that Jacob marry Rachel? (Laban or Jacob)
  • What were the travelers who took Joseph down to Egypt?  (Merchants or slave traders)
  • Did the Israelites in the desert have blisters or swollen feet? (See Nehemiah 9:21)
  • Did Naaman raid Israel and kill the whole family of the girl he took with him as a slave?
  • Does the Bible talk about a raggedy old bunch of shepherds that went to the tumble down stable to find Jesus?
  • Where did Jairus find Jesus to ask him to help his daughter? (The temple or the sea shore)
  • Was Zacchaeus a mean robber with no friends?
  • Can you lose God? Is Jesus lost, so you have to find him? God is the one who reaches down to “find” us!
  • Did Peter speak a magic language on Pentecost, so that everyone hearing his message could understand him in their own language?

The above are some details that I have found inaccurate in Bible story books.

We need to respect God and his Word. Of course, when we tell stories we imagine details, but those details have to be grounded in the truth.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

