Shoes in the Sky

After a very intense day my Brianna-girl is finally asleep, in my bed. I guess she is taking advantage of the opportunity, because when I’m at her house the kids fight about who is going to sleep with “mormor” (grandmother in Swedish). Today she realized what a privilege it is to have sibling to “fight with” because then there is also always someone to play with. Siblings are a blessing!

I have four younger siblings, but not until I grew older did I consider them a blessing. I’m sure many will agree with me. When you’re number one in a list of five, you have to take on a lot of responsibility. I know my siblings didn’t appreciate my “leadership style” very much. Could I have been a bossy big sister?

We went to the park in the afternoon but Brianna just took a quick walk and came back to the car. “There is no one to play with,” she said in her own characteristic “complainer” voice. She sure can sound dramatic! That’s when we talked about how nice it is to have siblings.

We had a girl’s lunch out with a friend I used to work with, her treat. On our way home we saw them, the shoes in the sky! That is something I couldn’t pass up. So later in the afternoon Brianna and I took a drive to get pictures. Those shoes made me think of the words in Isaiah about the beautiful feet that bring good news.

How beautiful on the mountains
are the feet of those who bring good news,
who proclaim peace,
who bring good tidings,
who proclaim salvation,
who say to Zion,
“Your God reigns!” (Isaiah 52:7)

Who would think of hanging their shoes on the power lines? But to bring the Good News we need to be connected to the Heavenly Power Line—the Holy Spirit.

Brianna had a brilliant idea. By the way, in Vacation Bible School she got a new name: Brilliant Brianna, so when I introduce her to someone, that’s what I’m supposed to say.

This was her brilliant idea. That I erase the power lines so it looked like the shoes were floating in the sky. I did some quick photo-shopping and here is the result.

What’s the moral of the story?

Don’t hang your shoes on the power line. Put them on, get connected with the Heavenly Power Line, and go proclaim peace and good tidings.

In putting on the armor of God, as the Apostle Paul exhorts the Church in Ephesus, we should have our feet “fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace” (Eph 6:15).

These are my two cents for the day. I wonder what adventures we’ll have tomorrow?

Life with this “brilliant” seven-year-old is something out of the ordinary.

Thanks to my friend Sandy for inviting us out to lunch and for spotting the shoes in the sky. That gave me something fun to write about.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

