The Beauty of Friendship

What would life be without friends? Proverbs 17:17 reads, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

The days my little friend and granddaughter and I are spending  together are quickly coming to an end. After our girls out date and the fun of discovering the shoe in the sky, we had a surprise we could not have imagined.

My girls went to a Swedish school in Bolivia for missionary kids. One of the boys they admired was Daniel. I think my oldest daughter even had a crush on him. Who could blame her? He was kind and handsome!

Guess who we visited with on Tuesday night? Daniel! He and a friend were here on a convention for Royal Rangers. He posted it on Facebook and Brianna’s mom saw it there and gave him the info that I live in Springfield. That’s how we connected!

Brianna might not have many chances to meet the people her mother went to school with. Most of them live in Sweden, and it’s not like she can take the bus and be there in a few hours. So that was a treat for her.

I’ve lived 24 years in the United States. I love this country, which has now become “my” country, but my roots are Swedish. It was like a breath of fresh air to meet Daniel and another Swedish man who had come to the conference. Do I miss not living in Peru or Bolivia they asked me? Not really, but if it wasn’t for my daughter and my grandchildren, I would like to move to Sweden. I feel the roots!

Friendships! Just like a seed in the ground needs to be tended to for it grow and develop into a beautiful plant, friendships need to be cherished and tended to. I like to keep in touch with my friends from work. I’ve been retired 2 years now, but when my grandchildren come to visit, I set up a lunch date with my friends. We did that yesterday. Brianna entertained them and sang a beautiful song she learned in Vacation Bible School.

Here we are, on the couch in the lunch room!

The Beauty of Friendship is the title of a pop-up book that my friend Karen S. gave me a few years ago. While waiting for it to be the right time to go on our lunch date, Brianna and I read the book. Here is one of the short poems:

MY JOY IN LIFE
It is my joy in life to find
At every turning of the road
The strong arms of a comrade kind
To help me onward with my load;
And since I have no gold to give,
And love alone must make amends,
My only prayer is, while I live—
God make me worthy of my friends.
Frank Dempster Sherman

The little friend I have with me this week is very demanding of my attention. She wants it all—from early morning until late at night! I wouldn’t want it any other way. (She’s still asleep—that’s why I’m writing uninterrupted!) There is beauty in friendship, a beauty that needs tender loving care.

“Happy is the house that shelters a friend,” said Ralph Waldo Emerson. To that he added, “The ornaments of our house are the friends that frequent it.”

I call my grandchildren jewels, and I’m happy that I now am sheltering one of those precious gems!

May life bring you much beauty—many friends!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends, My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

