Peace, Access, Hope

Sunday night my son-in-law preached at the church he and his family attend in Muskogee, Oklahoma. My daughter was so proud of her husband. If you have Facebook and are her friend you might have seen a picture of him leading the singing, which he also did.

My husband’s big dream was that he would have a little submissive wife that would sit in the pew and admire his preaching. It didn’t turn out that way, but really the opposite. He turned out to be the admirer and used most of my outlines in his preaching. Of course, he gave the messages his touch.

When I saw my daughter and the way she admired her husband, she was the picture of what my dear hubby (now gone to be with Jesus) had dreamed of. I wish he could have seen her. I am so totally opposite of the wife of his dreams. But he would often say how happy he was that he got me and not the type he had dreamed of having. Many times I wished I could have been the kind of wife he wished for. But we are what we are, and through life and our missionary ministry we complemented each other.

I’m getting away from the subject. I want to give you a synthesis of the message, taken from Romans 5:1-5.

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

 

 

We have been justified through faith and have PEACE with God. Through Jesus Christ we have gained ACCESS through faith into this marvelous grace, and we rejoice in the HOPE of the glory of God.

Next is something we tend to shun away from, but it is part of the picture. We rejoice in the hope we have in Christ, but we also rejoice in our sufferings. How can that be something to rejoice about, you might ask?

Suffering produces perseverance
Perseverance produces character
Character produces hope

Interesting! We’re back to HOPE. And hope does not disappoint us.

Think of it as a circle of love. It all works together for our good, as we read in Romans 8:28. Meditate on this truth and when problems and suffering come your way, rejoice in HOPE, because suffering produces perseverance, and perseverance produces character, and character produces HOPE.

Have a very HOPEfilled day!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ, Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

