Moving Moments

I don’t know if you are watching America’s Got Talent, but I like to see all the different talents people have. Last night it was awesome to see the man who draws pictures in the sand. He quickly transformed one animal into another and finalized with a big eye with a tear, saying it represented God’s eye looking out on the Planet. We have been entrusted its care but have not always done a good job.

Another moving moment was when the ten-year-old Mexican boy sang a Mariachi that reminded me much of my Latin American Heart. “Bésema, bésame mucho” (“Kiss me, kiss me much”). I never was much for kissing, but I wouldn’t mind having my love back to have at least one kiss.

As I’m going on about moving moments, I was moved when I took my two grandchildren who are spending the week with me to McDonald’s for a Happy Meal (it costs only $1.99 in Tuesdays, toy and all). I wish we as adults could keep some of our “childlike” ways.

There was quite a bunch of kids there. It didn’t take them a minute to make friends. Then in another minute the little one —Sarah 4— came crying her heart out because one of the girls had pushed her so she fell. It was heartbreaking. After crying a bit in my arms, she went back to the games and played to her heart’s content with the girl who had pushed her. She even let her have Momma Puppy, her dear and inseparable stuffed dog, the one that even went with her to Wisconsin last year!

That is the attitude the Lord wants us to have. To be forgiving, and then go on as if nothing had happened.

When the disciples were arguing over who was the greatest, Jesus used a child as an object lesson.

Matthew 18:3,4
“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

I had a little forgiving to do when I looked at the pictures we took on our way over from Oklahoma. Sarah knows that she should not stick out her tongue. “Why did you do it?” I asked her. “I think it’s funny!” she said.

Sarah (with the tongue) and Lana
on their way to vacation with “Mormor”

Isn’t that what happens to all of us? Temptation tickles our “funny-bone”! Satan paints gorgeous pictures and entices us.

Proverbs 14:12
There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.

My story for children this week is about a girl who was tempted by some red peppers, but not the kind we usually put in salads. The jalapeño kind of peppers! She had been told not to try them, but the girls couldn’t resist them. And her mouth was set on fire!

This will be all for now. I have girls to take care of. We are going to church tonight. When we get home we’ll put on the DVR and see if the Mexican boy moves on to the semi-finals on America’s Got Talent. How can I not vote for a little boy to win, and one with such talent? My life revolves around kids!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

