Charred Grapes and Inconsiderate Witnesses

What do grapes have to do with witnesses? Nothing much, really.  But those are my two subjects for today.

You see the pan? Those were sweet grapes grown in Oklahoma that I was cooking to make juice. If I have too many grapes and I don’t feel like eating them raw, I cook them for juice. I let them cook for a while and then I strain them. I add new water, cook them again, and have a delicious glass of juice.

That is what I was doing last night. I sat down with my computer to write about the inconsiderate witnesses, and viola I woke up to a very “charred” smell. I’m glad it was only that and not a fire! Good for me that I had set the heat on low!

I lost the grapes. I lost my pan. And I lost my inspiration.

You can’t sit and write in the middle of the night when your house smells like fire.

I’m sad for Silvia. You might remember that I asked for prayer for her a few months ago. Her husband Wibel landed in prison because of an accident driving a bus between Huancayo and Tarma in the Andes Mountains of Peru. It’s a very winding road with precipices. He lost control and had the accident. Five people were killed and several injured. We have now found out that the bus was not serviced properly, so it wasn’t Wibel’s fault.

Now Wibel is in prison in Tarma, quite some ways from where Silvia and his girls live. He has been assigned a lawyer by the state, but that man is asking Silvia for travel expense, food, hotel, etc. He has no consideration for her dire situation. There were witnesses that were going to testify in favor of Wilber. Silvia scraped together the money for the bus-fare. Guess what? They never showed up. That’s why I’m calling them inconsiderate.

My grandchildren sent $15.00 of their money. I added a few dollars to that. Some materials have been bought so that he can make things, whatever things I don’t know. But when Silvia has a chance to visit her husband she will take them with her and sell them.

Silvia (40) and her three girls: Lakhsmi (12), Noria (6) and Nedda (3) are not complaining. “There must be a reason why all this has happened to us,” she says. Together with her girls they are determined to take a day at a time and trust God to care for them.

Once again I’m asking you to pray for Silvia. If she had money and possibilities to travel to the city where her husband is incarcerated she might be able to get him out. But Silvia is what we call “poor.” And poor people have a hard time to make their voice heard. She might be poor in what the world considers riches, but in the eyes of God she has just as much voice as any of us, maybe more. Her faith is strong.

Let’s keep her in prayer, asking for the miracle of daily provision, and that somehow the prison doors open to let Wibel out. If the bus company had serviced the bus as they should he might not be in this predicament.

What are charred grapes in comparison to this? Nothing! I just lost some grapes and a pot. Silvia is without means of support.

I’m excited to see what miracles God will do for her and Wibel. I will keep you posted.

Proverbs 31:8-9
“Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
for the rights of all who are destitute.
Speak up and judge fairly;
defend the rights of the poor and needy.”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life, Peru and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

