A Week’s Roundup

It’s  Sunday afternoon. The sun is shining. But we had rain! Yes, it rained last night. Such long-awaited rain!

My son-in-law does a Daily Roundup on his blog. Maybe you’d like to visit his site. It’s completely different from mine. Check it out and see:

http://thomcole.wordpress.com/

I’d like to do a little roundup of some pictures I’ve taken this week.

Sunset seen from my back door

My first tomato of the year

Second tomato waiting for its color

Side by side

Bob and Noemi Caiazzo

These are two friends that have been side by side for many years, working as missionaries in Guatemala and Nicaragua. Noemi is very special to me because she was one of the teenagers in our ministry in Huancayo, Peru.

Yesterday they gave away their daughter Catherine to Jonathan. I’m not even going to attempt to spell his name. The preacher could not pronounce it, and we had some fun laughs in the middle of the wedding ceremony.

If you have been to a wedding you know it might not be so easy to get access to taking pictures. That was my case, but even so I managed to take a few and those I will share in this roundup.

Table for the presents
What is a wedding without presents?

A treasure chest for the cards

Decoration by the seating arrangements

Sleeping Beauty, one of the bride’s nieces

Sad father, happy daughter?

Happy couple ready to take on life together

Jonathan and Catherine

Where was this wedding, you might be asking? At Central Assembly of God in Springfield, Missouri. The reception was in another location, 2.5 hours later. I went home to rest a while. I had done quite a lot of walking and my feet were protesting.

Not intending to, I fell asleep and didn’t wake up until the time of the reception. O my, that wasn’t good. To top it off, I missed the sign and drove way past the reception hall.

Maybe it was a good thing. People were seated and others were standing in line to get their food. My dear Joan, one of the Aunt’s of the bride, a precious friend from our youth ministry and who use to look after my girls. Since she was blond (not common among the people in Huancayo) folks would thing the girls were her daughters.

She invited me to sit at her table and she stood in line and got the food for me. Such a precious friend! We were so happy to see each other.

Three sisters: Joan, Noemi (mother of the bride) and Julieta

Delia, Cat’s Peruvian grandmother, my friend

The cake table, just across from where I was seated

Feeding each other the cake

Could it be the first fight?

Shells from around the globe

Catherine wanted decorations that represented the world, as she grew up as a missionary kid. What an excellent idea to get shells? And now I have a box full of shells to remember this day by. The interesting thing is that my box is crafted in Nicaragua, where Cat spent many of her growing up years and were her parents will continue their mission work.

I’m happy I was invited to the wedding. I had plans to be with my grandchildren this weekend. But I canceled. The Lord had me stay here because somebody needed me. And we met at church this morning. It felt so good to come to church and be needed, and not just sit in the pew.

I started this blog with a sunset. It’s sunset again. I wonder what I’ll round up next week. Only God knows. My times are in his hands!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

