Waiting in Expectation

I have been eating tomatoes like candy! My friends that have Facebook have seen this picture but for all my other friends, known and unknown, the following was a gift.

Tomatoes are quite expensive at the supermarket, so you can understand how exciting it was to receive all these tomatoes.

Since we have started a Daniel Fast at our church this comes as a God-sent. Tomatoes are going to be my staple for quite a few days. We are eating like Daniel: fruits and vegetables and no choice foods, with only water to drink. My stomach is growling. It misses the chocolate fixes!

Why do we fast from choice foods? It’s one way to subject the body to prioritize the soul. A real fast would be no food at all, but this is better than no fast at all.

A man who heard about prayer and fasting, wasn’t real acquainted with the meaning and the procedure. “I’m eating real fast!” he said.

This reminds me of a story about a man who advertised for a driver who was a fast eater, because he wanted to move along quickly. He got his driver, who took a long time at their first stop for a meal. The man who had hired the driver complained, reminding him that had been hired because he was a fast eater.

“Yes,” said the newly hired driver, “I am a fast eater, but I eat a lot and for a long time!”

Our goal is not to eat a lot, but to pray a lot. God does marvelous things when his people pray, and we are excited about the miracles God will do.

When I came to the States twenty plus years ago I needed lots of miracles. I found a little plaque that read, “EXPECT A MIRACLE.” How I expected! And I’m still expecting. Like King David, I seek the Lord with expectation.

Psalm 5:3
In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice;
in the morning I lay my requests before you
and wait in expectation.

I have some very special requests for this month. Some involve people I want to bless but I don’t know how to get in contact with them. God knows where they are and he can help me connect. That’s one of the miracles I’m waiting for in expectation.

I’m studying the Book of Daniel to feed my soul and also to get food for thought to write a curriculum. I already have some good notes and I will be sharing them here. Daniel was such an extraordinary man.

Google Daniel Fast and you can get lots of information on the subject. Most importantly it’s a time to seek the Lord in expectation.

Every time we pray, we should be waiting in expectation.

Think about the juicy, red tomatoes that fill my dish. Don’t they look inviting?

God invites us to his table of blessings. Through prayer we can fellowship with the Lord Almighty. We are not worthy of his mercies, but because of his great love and grace we can come to the table waiting in expectation.

Like our pastor says, he can’t wait to see what God is going to do, in our church, in the neighborhood, in each one individually.

I can’t bring you a platter of sweet, juicy tomatoes. But I’ll be bringing you encouragement and testimonies of God’s miracle power at work.

Wait on God with expectation!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting in Expectation

  1. Great post! It excites me to see the people of God spreading the message. We have to come alive and be a reflection of his light. We can light this dark world by spreading what is right.

    God always provides when you are focused on whats right you have to ignore the darkness and focus on the light. No surprise that this gift was given to you but be like God and make sure you share some too.

    God bless you in all that you do.

Leave a Reply

