Third Generation Missionary

My nephew Linus has a lot of eights in his birth date: 08/08/80. How’s that?

HAPPY BIRHTDAY, LINUS!

We lived in Sweden when he was born. My girls where at the age when they loved babies, so it was a treat when Lars and Lilo, Linus’ parents came to visit. Sadly, we lived far away from each other. Lars, my brother, was a young pastor at that time. Months later we moved to Peru, so we didn’t get to see Linus until four years later when we spent a few months in Sweden.

From Peru we moved to Bolivia. What a surprise when one of the mission leaders told us Lars and his family were coming to Bolivia as missionaries! Why my brother kept that “secret” I’ll never know. I guess he wanted to surprise us! Even greater was the surprise that he was going to be a jungle pilot missionary.

By then Linus was old enough to go to school, and he was enrolled in the Swedish School for missionary kids in Cochabamba, half a block from where we lived. Of course, he could have stayed at our house, but it was more fun for him to be with the other children living in the boarding school.

My treat was every time Linus would come over to visit his aunt and we would have ice cream together. I loved that little boy! I didn’t have a boy of my own, so I cherished the moments I got to have with the handsome little Linus. It didn’t last for long, because we moved on to the ministry God had for us in the United States. But I’m glad I have those cherished memories.

Linus and his beautiful family

What about Linus today? He is a third generation missionary. Let me make a quick breakdown.

First: Per Anderås, church planter and builder, literally. When he announced to his mother that he was going to be a missionary, she said, “How are you going to be a missionary, you can’t build anything!” Well, he learned. He not only built churches but also built and led a Bible school.

Second: Lars Anderås, aviator missionary, pastor, curriculum writer for a short period, and now Director of a Swedish humanitarian help organization serving the world.

Third: Linus Anderås, computer geek since an early age, and now working with radio ministry in Cyprus.

Today is another special day. My grandchildren go back to school. How time flies! Now all four of them are on their way to growing up! My daughter is going to have “withdrawals.” Before she knows it she’ll have an empty nest. I hope to be like Linus’ grandfather Per, my dad, so I can follow them along every step of the way. He is still going strong, being my “typist” for all the lesson materials that need to be typed so I can work on them electronically.

My grandchildren ready for a new school year

Am I proud of Linus? You bet! The sad part is that I don’t get to see him and his adorable family. But there is Facebook. That way I can see what they’re up to. Here is one advice I found on Linus’ wall:

I had a problem yesterday. A toner cartridge for my printer would not work. I followed the instructions step by step. Wouldn’t work. Did it again. And again. And again… A friend came over to look at it and we tried it. Step by step. Again and again! By then I had already decide to go to the source: Staples! Printer and all went into the car and off I went. The people helping me out were very kind. We brought the printer into the store, set it up, and tried the new cartridge. It would not work! So one of the clerks ordered a new one, and it worked! I could have tried for days without success!

My advice: If you have a problem, go to the source! Next time, I’ll go to Staples after the first unsuccessful try!

Whatever problems you’re facing today,
go to the Lord in prayer! Nothing is impossible for him.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Generation Missionary

  1. sjoukje van den brink says:

    Dear Kerstin, that was very nice!

    I should have flown to Canada, last week 1st of aug. instead i was rushed to hospital in nürnberg with acute blood poisoning 2 days before my trip and had an emergency op. on my left hand, i am left handed!
    it was a close shave. i’ve got a partial cast and must keep my hand immobile.
    my doggy went camping with a good friend and her 2 girls, which is a blessing. other friends managed to get my whole trip cancelled in time. now i’m home again, since saturday.
    just have to wait a year before i can plan again to visit them, as they are all studying and working during the year.

    lots of love, sjoukje.

Leave a Reply

