It Pays to Pray

I’m so excited because I finally see the light in the end of the tunnel. I’ve been working for months on a curriculum that outlines the way of salvation using lesson from the book of Acts.

And I have prayed, and prayed, and prayed to find an artist that could work with me to illustrate the Bible stories I write. I have some art that I can salvage from my time in Bolivia but I need art for new lessons.

God answered my prayer and led me through my friend Harold Calkins to Absalom in Costa Rica. Now I have to pay for those answered prayers. I came up with the following slogan to amuse myself. My son-in-law often asks me if I talk to myself. Sure! I got to have someone to talk to! Here’s the slogan:

It pays to pray.

Now I have to pay for what I prayed.

I’m going to write my friends and see if someone will help me with the payments. It’s an honor to do this ministry for the Lord. I have a friend that has helped me with lay-out and proof-reading. Now it will be up to the teachers to use the lessons for Vacation Bible School or Sunday School.

I came across an advertisement for a curriculum that upset me quite a bit. “Easy to use,” it said. “With almost no prep needed… designed for busy leaders with energetic kids.” For another curriculum it said: “Short on time? No problem. In most cases your volunteers will need only 10 minutes of prep time.”

That’s not the kind of curriculum I write. And I’ve always taught the teachers to use a lot of time for preparation. I recommend you start your preparation on Sunday afternoon for your lesson the coming Sunday. If you know what you’re going to be teaching already in the beginning of the week, you can find illustrations and get ideas with ample time. Only 10 minute to prepare? You need to be in prayer all week to know how the Holy Spirit wants you to approach the subject to adapt it to your class.

“My” teachers don’t get away with just 10 minutes preparation. First of all they have to look through the files I provide, decide what files they will use, print the files, and then start studying. It’s hard work to be a teacher. But it pays! Not in the currency that I need to pay for the prayer that was answered—the artwork—, but it pays in personal spiritual growth and the satisfaction of seeing lives changed!

The picture I got today from my artist friend in Costa Rica was so inspiring for me. I have to show it to you. It’s for a coming series I will be writing about the Holy Spirit.

The promise of the Holy Spirit was not only for the disciples of the First Church. It’s for us today, too!

This is what Peter preached on the Day of Pentecost:

“Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off —for all whom the Lord our God will call.” –Acts 2:38,39

Whatever I have to pay for the prayers I pray, I do it joyfully. I figure that if other people can spend money on eating out and other kinds of entertainment, I can spend my money on art. That’s the most fun I have! For every picture that comes my way I’m overjoyed!

Now you know something else about me. To pay for the answer to my prayer is the joy of my life! Tomorrow is the Day of the Lord and I’ll go to his house and offer a sacrifice of praise.

Are you praying for something special? You might “pay” for the answer!

There was this man praying that God would give his neighbors a pig; they needed it.
His little girl looked with great big eyes at him and said, “Daddy, you have a pig!”

Do you think he had thought about being the answer to his prayers?

I won’t stop praying. I love it. It sure pays to pray!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

