Big Heart Small Pocket

A big heart and a small pocket. That’s my problem!

But, as I wrote to a friend, that’s no problem because my Father is the owner of the Universe and all the Galaxies and whatever is beyond them. It’s just a matter of trust and spending wisely.

I never got around to writing my blog last night. I didn’t have a “girl’s night out” with a friend but rather a “girl’s night in”! We talked and talked. I probably did most of the talking because since I spend so much time alone, whenever someone come over I have to get some “talk” out of me. She helped me set up a Skype account, so now I have to learn to use it.

I had an errand to the south part of town. Whenever I do, and there is a possibility, there is one place where I love to go, especially when I have a coupon. The best part is that I always end up leaving with a little stack!

  • A box with salad
  • A box with a piece of Tiramisu
  • Some bread sticks

They provide you with a bag to carry home your “left-overs”!

If you arrive before 4.00 pm, you get the lunch price. I barely made it!
What did I have? The usual: Eggplant Parmesan

What does this cane have to do with all of this? Nothing other than that I found the perfect place to take a picture to show you my “zebra”-cane. This used to be my husband’s cane. When my granddaughter Brianna was visiting me this summer she wanted to buy zebra duct tape. She said she “loooved” it! So I taped the black cane and made it such a cool, “in” cane! Don’t you think?

It’s taken me a long time to accept that I need to use a cane whenever I don’t have someone to “wheel” me around. I had to overcome my pride, and now I’m proud of my inherited, updated cane!

What about the big heart and the small pocket you might ask? I can’t say too much because I need to respect people’s privacy. But I have a friend that has met “the love of his life” on the Internet in another country and now wants to bring her to his country. I promised him a ticket using my saved-up American Airlines miles. Come to find out I can’t use them between the countries involved.

Can I disappoint the love-birds? This ticket would make it possible for them to realize their dreams. So the hands, attached to the “big” heart, are going to have to reach into the small pocket, believing in the provision of the Great God. Does it make sense?

That’s where I am today! Another thing. I was excited to use miles so I can go to Sweden and visit my aging father. Did I ever get a surprise! The taxes are $671.40! I can’t believe it! Can my little pocket handle that? Probably not. But my Father in heaven knows I need to visit my earthly father. Will he dig into his big pocket and lend me a helping hand? I believe he will.

I’m not losing heart.

If you’re in a predicament, don’t count on your pocket. If you count God as your Father, trust in his big pocket. And I’m not being disrespectful in saying this. What I mean is: Put your needy hand in the big and loving hand of God.

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Money, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

