An Exciting Day

What is it about us girls that we get a special, fussy feeling when someone comments positively about our hair?

I have just gotten a haircut and little four-year old Sarah commented about it and said she liked my short hair; that it looked like her brother’s Mohawk. Later, when I made a comment about her comment, that she liked my short hair, she said, “I like you with short hair and I like you with long hair.”

Isn’t that how we all should be. Like each other no matter what! To say the truth, this made for a very exciting beginning of the day. Add to that the appearance of a little turtle that the daddy of the family found in the garage.

The turtle, a great excitement for the kids

I’m back visiting with my daughter and her family. It’s our “twins” birthday! Not yet, but right around the corner. We celebrated it today. David suggested a celebration at Incredible Pizza in Tulsa. Each of them would get to invite a friend. David tried but it didn’t work out for him. Of course, he was disappointed, but he got over it. The friend Lana invited came with us.

Lana and her friend Reagan

David, Reagan, Lana, Brianna & Sarah

Our birthday twins, turning 9 years old

The drive to Tulsa from where we are takes about an hour. We arrived in good time for lunch, only to be turned away, but not for long. A company had rented the pizza place until 1.00 pm. It turned out to be a blessing because each of us received a $5.00 card to use for games, which is really the point of that place–lots of games, lots of noise! Thirty dollars for waiting for an hour or so, that’s not bad.

We had some errands to do at Sam’s Club so we used the time wisely. The most important thing I wanted to find, I didn’t find: a pre-paid phone card. I’m trying to learn to use Skype but I still need my phone card. I can’t expect my dad to Skype! I used to pay for a Sam’s Club membership when I had my little hubby. One of his favorite things was to go to Sam’s and have a big hot dog. Now that it’s just me, why should I pay for such a membership? I go with my daughter!

We were the first in line when the pizza place opened to the public. It’s a place where you eat all the pizza and salad you want, and then play games. My “game” was to take a picture of a lady celebrating her 50th birthday. I called her the queen of the day.

By the black flowers you can see she is Over the Hill

A table of gifts.

The gift for me today was when my precious little Sarah said she likes me whichever way I have my hair. Many times I don’t like the way my hair looks, but she sees beyond it. And that is what we all should do.

I remember one time when I commented to my mom about a lady I thought was ugly. She told me to wait and see what I thought after meeting her. It wasn’t long before I considered her the most beautiful lady I ever met. And she was! The real beauty is on the inside.

That’s the beauty I wish for this precious little girl and her siblings. That’s the beauty we all should strive for. Now, if you have beauty both inside and out, that is a plus and a blessing.

This is the girl who made the beginning of my day so exciting!

I’m glad I was a part of an exciting day for my grandchildren.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

