What Jesus Suffered for You and Me

What comes to mind when you read these words? I asked yesterday.

afflicted
crushed
despised
disfigured
marred
not esteemed
oppressed
pierced
punished
rejected
smitten
sorrowed
stricken by God
suffering
wounded

Those are words from Isaiah 52:13–53:12 that describe the suffering of our Lord and Savior. I have read the passage many times but have not stopped to reflect on the very vivid descriptions of the pain he endured for us. Bear in mind that these words were written hundreds of years before the actual happenings.

Following are two sections. In the first section I have put these words in their context. In the next section I have picked out the positives in the story. You can read these sections if you please, or go directly to your Bible and read the passage prayerfully, letting it speak to your heart.

This is like going back to the roots. If not for the fulfillment of this “story” there would be no salvation, no hope of life eternal.

I recently had a very hurtful experience. My whole being hurt and my lonely heart cried in despair, but that was nothing compared to what Jesus endured. Even to “dare” a comparison seemed sacrilegious to me. But my pain helped me focus on Jesus sufferings for me.

What was the worst part for Jesus? We don’t know. Was it that he was despised? That he was disfigured? That he was rejected? That he was crushed? That he was pierced? That he was stricken?

I submit that probably the worst suffering was when his Father had to turn his face away from him, because Jesus was carrying the sins of the world. Jesus felt the utter loneliness and pain of the sinner “forsaken” by God!

Matthew 27:45-46
From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the land. About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi,  lama sabachthani?”-which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

That is what sin does to us. I cannot bear to think of even a moment “abandoned” by my Father. My heart aches for my family, friends, neighbors, and people in general who do not have Jesus in their life. I hope you have received Jesus as your Lord and Savior.

John 1:12
To all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.

Read on, or go to your Bible and read Isaiah 53. The Holy Spirit will speak into your heart. Mediate deeply on everything Jesus did for you.

Jesus’ Sufferings

Many were appalled at him

His appearance was disfigured beyond that of any man

His form marred beyond human likeness

He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him

Nothing in his appearance was desirable

He was despised and rejected by men

He was a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering

Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised

We esteemed him not

He took up our infirmities and carried our sorrows

We considered him stricken by God, smitten by him, and afflicted

He was pierced for our transgressions

He was crushed for our iniquities

The punishment that brought us peace was upon him

By his wounds we are healed

The LORD laid on him the iniquity of us all

He was oppressed and afflicted

He was led like a lamb to the slaughter

By oppression and judgment he was taken away

He was cut off from the land of the living

For our transgressions he was stricken

He was assigned a grave with the wicked

It was the LORD’s will to crush him and cause him to suffer

The LORD made his life a guilt offering

He bore our iniquities

He was numbered with the transgressors

He bore the sin of many

 Why Jesus suffered for you and me

My servant will act wisely

He will be raised and lifted up and highly exalted

He grew up before him like a tender shoot,

He took up our infirmities and carried our sorrows

He was pierced for our transgressions

He was crushed for our iniquities

The punishment that brought us peace was upon him

By his wounds we are healed

The LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all

The LORD made his life a guilt offering

He will see his offspring and prolong his days

The will of the LORD will prosper in his hand

After the suffering of his soul,
he will see the light [of life] and be satisfied

By his knowledge my righteous servant will justify many

He will bear their iniquities

I will give him a portion among the great

He will divide the spoils with the strong

He bore the sin of many

He made intercession for the transgressors

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

