The First “New” Bike

Did you have a bike as a kid? Did you have a “new” bike? I sure don’t remember having that! But last night, as a birthday present, Lana received a new bike. Her first bike was a tricycle when she turned two. It seems like that was yesterday. In seven more years she will be hoping for some keys to a four-wheel vehicle!

Things have changed since my school days. Back then we played hop-scotch, jacks, hula-hula… What’s the big thing today? I couldn’t believe my eyes when we went to have a little birthday party with David and Lana’s school mates. Instead of playing on the swings and the monkey-bars, check out what the kids are doing!

DS’s, I phones and I pads are things kids are taking to school and instead of getting exercise for their bodies during recess they fill their brains with who-knows-what kinds of information. Not all of them, because my grand-kids don’t get to take any electronic devices to school.

I wish you could have seen David when he opened his presents. His excitement showed just as much as his big smile and his dimples. Lana was probably just as happy, but did not express it. We’re all different.

One thing is for sure, God’s love encompasses us all. Jeremiah 31:3 tells us about God’s everlasting love.

In Romans 5:5, we read, “…because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.”

 
The greatest expression of God’s love is Jesus. Bikes, e-gadgets, whatever… are nothing, although people put such great value in things. Things are just things. Lana’s bike is going to wear out. The presents that David was so excited about in a few years will have no meaning, except a couple of books he had marked in a catalog that he wanted. One of them was “100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart” and the other was “199 Promises of God.”

What was the first promise in that book?

2 Corinthians 5:17
Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

That is the first and foremost “new”—to be a new creation in Christ!

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

